A Valentine for the insomnia I had last night

Dear Insomnia,

You touch my life when I least expect it. I love your playful ability to keep my eyes from closing and my mind from wandering into the insane world of dreamland.   Last night you visited me, and just listen to all the things I accomplished:

The upcoming job of redecorating the spare bedroom? I did the whole thing in my head last night!
Problems at work? Obsessed over!
That book I’m trying to finish? Completed!

I even had time to compose this heartfelt Valentine’s day poem for you:
Roses are red,
Violets are blue
Who needs sleep
When I’ve got you?!

It took me awhile to think that one up, but don’t worry, I had plenty of time to work on it!  I hope you don’t mind if I ask that you don’t visit me tonight. I know it will break your heart, and I really don’t want to hurt you, but darling, I’m not as young as I used to be and these late nights are terribly wearing. I know you understand. Give me a few weeks and then I’m sure I’ll be ready to stay up with you to design the spring garden, work out the budget, and plan a month’s worth of meals.

Love,

Your Valentine

0 Responses to “A Valentine for the insomnia I had last night”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

