we are stardust, we are golden…

Ken and I went out to eat the other night, then wandered over to a new store in town that resells CDs, DVDs and other collectible stuff like comics – which I don’t give two hoots for – and action figures – which I also don’t give two hoots for.  BUT, they also had three bins of old vinyl LPs, which I immediately attached myself to, and spent 30 minutes or so poring through them, noting smugly that I owned many of them already (and that mine were in pristine condition, thank you very much).  By the time I reached the Ws, I was about to give up hope of finding anything worthy of my hard-earned money, when suddenly I found the holy grail of albums – The 1970 3-album Woodstock set, on the Cotillian label, beautifully preserved with NO SCRATCHES.  

For some reason, I had never procured this album for myself, (probably because I usually had a roommate or ex-husband who owned it), and had resigned myself to never owning it – not being one to purchase things on EBay (because I lack EBay confidence – don’t ask, just accept).  I snatched that baby up, quick as a bunny, fearful that someone else would reach their arm in and yank it out of my hands, although there wasn’t anyone else around.  Oh boy, was I proud of myself!  I then spent a leisurely few more minutes perusing the DVDs and picked up an SNL Best of Chris Farley, then mosied up to the front of the store to pay for my treasures. 

The skinny little teenage boy manning the cash register started ringing me up and then exclaimed “Wow, you got the best one!” 

“Oh the Woodstock album?  Pretty great, huh?”  I replied, trying to act all nonchalant.

“Actually I meant the Chris Farley.  He’s so freakin’ funny!”

Was he kidding thinking the Chris Farley DVD was more cool than the Woodstock album???  Why wasn’t he drooling over my Woodstock prize like a NORMAL human being would?  Did this poor child have no idea about the cultural significance of the three-day festival of peace and love???  What kind of parents did he have anyway??  What were they teaching these kids in schools these days?

I briefly thought about preaching a sermon about the coolness of the Woodstock album over the Chris Farley DVD, but after another look at the kid I decided against it.  While he could have definitely used a quick lesson in baby boomer coolness, the effort would probably have been wasted on him.   Obviously if this poor child lacked proper knowledge of this most important of cultural touchstones, then he needed more help than I could possibly give him.  I decided to let well enough alone.

Later, I told the one teenage child I knew would properly appreciate my treasure – my 19 year old son. 

“Wow mom, that is so cool.  When can I listen to it?”

And his mother was sooo proud.

3 Responses to “we are stardust, we are golden…”


  1. 1 Max Yasgur February 27, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    Get the Director’s Cut DVD. Thank me later.

    Guess who would have been the headliners but they couldn’t arrange for a helicopter from NYC in time?
    A. Iron Butterfly.

    Richie Havens – fill baby, fill! Way too long but did as he was told.
    Joan Baez – Golden Protest; earnest and sincere in a way that seems sappy and silly today. It probably did then too, somewhat.
    Janis Joplin – great in spite of her sub-par backup band.
    Jefferson Airplane – Stonebirds of America! Stonebirds of America! Jack Cassidy’s playing is still amazing though.
    Ten Years After – I’m Going Home is a good song, and Alvin Lee a superb guitarist, but again, too long.
    The Who – My personal favorite. I would have given anything to have seen that set. Townshend was raw power and energy. I just wish more of them had been included. And to think their set concluded at 5 in the morning.
    Santana – Yeah Baby! Soul Sacrifice is one of their great songs.
    Jimi Hendrix – Again, a good performace in spite of stonebird status and the fact that most everyone was gone. The trash and the hangover feeling sucked a lot out of the experience.

    I’m still waiting for the definitive book to be written on Woodstock.

    Trivia question 2 – Who directed the film?
    A. He just won his first Director AA Sun. night.

    I still wish they’d done what they promised though and named the movie ‘Porta San’.

  2. 2 observantbystander February 27, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    Max:
    I beg to differ on your answer to trivia question #2. Martin Scorsese actually edited the movie, which was directed by Michael Wadleigh. Sorry. You’re usually so up on these things…I guess turning 50 has not agreed with you. Ha!

    I listened to my favorite side which has the Fish Cheer (natch), Joan Baez stuff (surprisingly this HAS aged well and feels especially pertinent these days), and Stephen Stills saying “this is only the second we’ve performed in front of people. We’re scared shitless, man.” Classic stuff.

    See you at Love, Janis this Sat!!!

  3. 3 Max Yasgur February 27, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    Like the man in elevator shoes, I stand corrected.

    Joan Baez?? Pleeeeeeeease…. “This injustice shouldn’t be allowed – my husband’s in prison..” Yap Yap Yap. I guess I’ve just become cynical with age.

    I forgot about CSN. The best performance, now that I look back on it, was Sha Na Na. End of story.

    50 is doing just fine thank you. I sleep like a baby every night. I wake up crying at 3am having wet the bed.


Leave a Reply

