a day in the life

It is slow in our business right now due to the building slump, so I have a lot of time to kill at work. Here’s how I’ve been spending my days:

6:30am – Get to work. Smoke cigarettes. Shoot the bull.
7am-10am – Do work. Play several games of Spider Solitaire. Smoke cigarettes.
10am-11:30am – Work on blog. Play solitaire until I win. Listen to music. Think about world situation. Get depressed. Take antidepressant.
11:30-1pm – Eat lunch, work on blog, play solitaire, listen to music.
1pm – Loosen belt for comfort, prepare for afternoon’s activities.
1pm-3pm – Read other people’s blogs, play solitaire, listen to music, check weather report, smoke 3 cigarettes, prepare for afternoon nap.
3pm – Leave work. 10 minute drive home. Take nap.
5pm – Ken arrives home to find me drooling onto my pillow.

Whew. I’ll bet you’re tired just reading that list of activities. You may be wondering why I’m so tired after a day like I’ve just described, but trying to improve my solitaire stats is taking quite a toll on me. However, I’m up to a 12% win rate!!!! And I’m sure I can bring that up to to a healthy 15% if this slump will just last a few more weeks…one can only hope.

Today I mixed it up a little bit and spent a couple of hours making this inspirational poster (the picture is not so good, but it’s the best I could pirate off the internet):

poster79135128.jpg

If you find yourself with some time on your hands, you can make your own demotivator poster here

2 Responses to “a day in the life”


  1. 1 Mr. Kite March 1, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    I read the news today, oh boy.
    Then I played a bit of solatire.
    And though the games were rather dull,
    I had to play them all.
    Now I know how many games it takes
    to liven up the lull!

  2. 2 observantbystander March 2, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Mr. Kite,

    Great one! I was wondering if anyone would get the reference…


Leave a Reply

