defective candy product

The Tootsie pop I purchased today was the worst one EVER.  The local quickie mart must have had a run on Tootsie pops lately because they were down to 5 watermelon and 1-1/2 cherry flavored ones.  I say 1-1/2 because one was just the round part – no stick.  No way was I going to buy a sucker with no stick.  No way.  Plus, I have to have the cherry flavor because that’s just the kind of person I am.  I like cherry flavored anything.  So I bought what seemed to be the only whole cherry-flavored tootsie pop, which I had been looking forward to eating after my lunch today. 

Lunch today was provided by the local Boy Scouts.  We bought 5 spaghetti lunches from them, which they promptly delivered at 11:30 today.  Pretty good except for the stale bread.  I don’t begrudge them the stale bread, they’re just kids anyway.  So what if they belong to a nationally recognized organization I like to refer to as The Misogynistic Homophobe Society?  (sorry charles – you know who you are).  The lunch only cost $5, plus it came with two pretty spectacular chocolate chip cookies.  

I’m glad I had those two cookies because the much anticipated tootsie pop was defective.  First of all, it was missing the entire bottom half of the candy part.  It wasn’t stuck in the wrapper – it just wasn’t there at all.  The part that was left on the stick was this weird cracked mess of candy that pretty much disentigrated in my mouth in about 2 minutes. 

I’m worried about quality control at the tootsie pop factory.  Plus, what’s up with the watermelon flavor?  Did they steal that idea from Jolly Rancher? 

I would so sue them if I was Jolly Rancher.

1 Response to “defective candy product”


  1. 1 speckledbiter March 3, 2007 at 4:21 am

    Remember the old owl ads–how many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop? One of the best Halloween costumes ever. I guess I must revisit.


Leave a Reply

