weather & TV don’t mix

(**Note:  due to the tragic tornadoes that took the lives of people in Georgia and Alabama, I hesitated about posting this entry today.  However, I wrote it yesterday,  before learning of the devastation there. This in no way reflects my feelings about the horror they must have experienced…)

“If you don’t like the weather now, wait a few minutes”

We said that all the time in Texas, and we say it all the time here in the lovely Midwest too.  Wednesday night: Storms! Tonadoes! Hail! Lightning! Lost was pre-empted!  For weather reports!  Yes, I missed my Wednesday night “Lost” fix, due to the weatherpeople’s desire to keep people in the southern part of the viewing area abreast of the tornado activity.  However (and this important, so pay attention) I don’t live in the southern part of the viewing area.  Grrrr.  So why should their problems concern ME?  Of course, if the tornado activity had been in my part of the viewing area, I would totally want the ENTIRE MIDWEST to have a minute-by-minute update on my well-being, and I would want all local and cable programming pre-empted (naturally). 

I kept watching the local ABC affiliate, hoping they would bring my show back on, but ended up switching over to Forensic Files at 9:30.  When in doubt, turn on a true-crime show – that’s what I always say.

Thursday it snowed.  And it’s cold (again).  Let’s see:  58 and stormy one day, 31 and snowing the next day. 

Anna Nicole still hasn’t been buried and I’m wondering if they’re just going to wait until she turns into a skeleton, then divide her up between all the interested parties so they can do whatever they want with her.  (Sorry ’bout that, my brain just slipped into some weird stream of consciousness thing for a sec.  Must be the weather). 

Now for something completely different:  If you are remotely interested in what I’m reading and/or listening to, I have added those links at the top of the page  – which I just learned how to do.  Amazing what one can discover just be reading the instructions.  If I can actually remember to update those pages, you can feel as if you actually have your finger on the pulse of ME.  Figuratively speaking, of course.  Aren’t you the lucky one?

2 Responses to “weather & TV don’t mix”


  1. 1 Sgt. Pepper March 2, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    I finally had all I could take of Katie stormgasm and Gary weatherboner and turned to PBS and watched a 2 hour Secrets of the Dead episode on the technology of D-Day. It rocked a donkey’s ass off.
    I don’t know how people 30+ years ago survived tornado season without wall to wall TV coverage from the first warning to the last. I suppose folks were just smarter back then.
    Just remember to keep your bicycle helmets and mattresses at the ready.
    I think Katie tracked the storms until they were well into Indiana.

  2. 2 observantbystander March 2, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    Dear Pepper dude,

    Oh I LOVED the bike helmet comment by Katie. She’s such a weather slut. As much as I despise the sensationalization of weather news these days, I have to admit that Katie got me to the basement just in time during the tornado of 2003. Gotta love that “neighborhood Doppler” thingie they have now. I can’t wait until everyone has a personalized weather forcast: “Dude, the storm is 1 blook from your house at this very moment; grab your bike helmet and mattress and get your ass to the basement now!”


Leave a Reply

