blogging on blogging

I’m an obsessive blog-stat checker. I’m always wondering how many people per day are reading me and what they’re interested in. The blogs I think are really really good generally don’t generate any comments whatsoever. Blogs that I write off the cuff seem to spark an interest. I don’t know why this is, but it can be a little frustrating especially when I think I’ve scored a great post.

Today my cousin emailed me an article from the Kansas City Star today profiling local bloggers. Granted I’ve spent my life in relative anonimity and purposely don’t get out there in the general public very often. When I do, I’m one of those people that others seem to look through or over or under. It’s totally my fault, I know – I’m kind of quiet unless intoxicated. But gosh darn it, I’ve been blogging for nigh on 2 years now. OK, so I’ve tended to hop from blog host to blog host, but come on – keep up people!

I guess I shouldn’t hold it against the KC Star people for overlooking me this year, but honestly, I’ve got to blame someone, right?

On a somewhat related topic: I’m probably feeling kind of sorry for myself this week because an essay I recently wrote for submission was rejected. Rejected as in “Wer’re going to pass this time.” Rejected as in not good enough – for an internet ‘zine. Yikes, how low can you get when you’re rejected by a publication that can’t even afford to pay for the submissions they publish? I’m going to try submitting it somewhere else though, because that essay was totally worthy, my friends. Totally worthy.

Anyway, I’ll be visiting my dentist today for my permanent crown and am looking forward to entering nitrous-world where I plan to envision myself as a celebrated, regionally famous blogger who gets an average of 46 comments per post. Oh, and gets published. Even if it’s by me, on my own blog.

7 Responses to “blogging on blogging”


  1. 1 Amber Erin March 22, 2007 at 10:49 am

    if you could just stay at one spot, and join the comunity, you could very well have a poppular blog. it just takes time, commitemt, and well, writting good and popular articles.

  2. 2 V March 22, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    I’m a lurker. I rarely comment but it doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy your posts… it just means I’m lazy.

  3. 3 Prison Mike March 22, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    Come on missy. Let’s not have a pity party here. You’re good enough, you’re smart enough, and doggonit – people like you. I’ve known you for a long time and I’ve never known you to be someone who subsitutes integrity for popularity.
    I know you can have a popppular blog. Writting skills are imortand, but so are sepliing skels. Just stay here and join th’ commonidy.
    “When I open this, I’m hearing ‘I only love you an oven mitt’s worth’ “. Michael Scott – Christmas Party

  4. 4 observantbystander March 22, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    OK V, you shy little lurker, you. As a family member, you are obligated to make me feel worthy. This should really be your primary concern. You know how unstable I can be…

    Mike – Again, you seem to hit the old nayle on the heeadd. I promiss to trie hardr.

  5. 5 jh March 22, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    Hi. I just discovered your blog a few weeks ago (via C Monks). I like your writing — funny and thoughtful. Keep up the good work. It’s appreciated.

  6. 6 speckledbiter March 25, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    Don’t get discouraged and keep submitting!

    All famous authors have a drawer full of NO THANK YOUs. Perserverence wins in the end!

    It’s just that people don’t remember how hard it was when they started out.

    I HIGHLY recommend “Bird by Bird” by Anne LaMott. It is all about writing. The process, why we do it and why we keep at it.

  7. 7 observantbystander March 26, 2007 at 10:48 am

    I think I may have that one in my collection of writing books. I love Anne LaMott – so damn funny!


Leave a Reply

