not your typical sports fan

It’s NCAA night at the homestead and Ken’s got BB on 3 out of 4 television sets in our house.  The hometown fave, KU is playing S. Illinois.   I think this is big news – something about Sweet 16, which sounds suspiciously like an MTV show that I was unfortunate to have viewed.  Once.  With my mouth hanging open and muttering “no fucking way this is real” the whole time.  

I’m not much of a sports fan.  If there had been a way to unsubscribe to all sports channels and substitute them for True Crime channels back when I was single, I would have.   But Ken really really likes sports, so there you go.  Now I stay up late on the weekends watching all the true crime shows I TiVoed the previous week – after Ken has gone to bed and is no longer watching sports.

Now Ken’s got me signed up in some internet NASCAR fantasy racing league.  Why?  I’m not really sure.  But nonetheless, he got me signed up on his league – I’m Ladyluck (the name Ken signed me up with), and <em>I’m ahead of all eight of the men on the team</em>.  I am the freaking points leader – Booya!   

Do I know what I’m doing when Ken signs me on every week to pick drivers?  No, I do not.  I do know that know Kasey Kahne is really really cute.  And Jimmy Johnson is also really really cute.  And their names are alliterative.  I like that a lot in a name.   I like to watch the last 5 laps of a race, because really, who cares what happens in the first 45,645 laps anyway?  It’s all about the checkered flag, baby. 

And how many points I end up with in the end.

kaseykahne.jpg      jimmyjohnson.jpg
Kasey & Jimmy – Rock stars of NASCAR

2 Responses to “not your typical sports fan”


  1. 1 V March 23, 2007 at 8:37 am

    Ok – you know I love you but you liked Borat AND your on a NASCAR fantasy racing league? Are you sure we related? 🙂

  2. 2 observantbystander March 23, 2007 at 10:27 am

    Damn redneck in me got loose again.


Leave a Reply

