my new toy

As I sit here in front of the TV with my brand new laptop, I am feeling quite smug in the knowledge that I managed to do the following all by myself, with nary a call to Dell tech support;

  1. Connect to my wireless router to access the internet
  2. Connect to my other two PCs wirelessly
  3. Connect to my printer and actually print something
  4. Figure out all the stupid crap involved with Vista and its annoying security questions, which is remarkably like the PC/MAC commercial on TV:  “Windows is requesting access to ____ program.   Accept or Deny.  That kind of question gets asked a lot.  It’s freaking annoying.

The other day, I woke up feeling this unquenchable need.  A need for a laptop computer.  I’ve been comtemplating this purchase off and on for awhile, but that day I decided to take a look on the Dell website.  Ordering a computer online is too incredibly easy – it ought to be illegal to order shit this expensive online – because before I knew it, I was looking at a Submit Order button, which I quickly clicked on before I could think twice about it.   Then I spent the entire day muttering to myself “I can’t fucking believe I did that.” 

I don’t usually make purchases on a whim.  I’m a planner and a researcher.  I like to know exactly what I’m doing and when I’m going to do it.  I’ve purchased all of my computers online, but only after much contemplation and after making sure I was getting the best possibly deal.    This felt different.  This felt almost illicit in its spontaneousness. 

So here I sit, with my new lover, blogging and watching a true crime show – at the same time.  In my living room.  How racy is that?  Next I’m going to order a couple of gifts from the Barnes & Noble website.  Watch out, I’m a wild woman now.

1 Response to “my new toy”


  1. 1 Blue Athena May 2, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    Oh, yeah, I couldn’t do that. Not that I’d actually research the computer or its competitors much, but I’d have to *think* about it for weeks and weeks.

    I lie. Oh I really do lie. I just remembered I bought a $799 GPS a few years back after 4 whole hours of contemplation and research. I still love the GPS, even if they’re way cheaper now.


Leave a Reply

