gettin’ it out of my system

Have you ever had one of those days where, if you don’t get the hell outta Dodge, you’ll end up saying or doing something to totally alienate those you love the best?  Today was one of those days.  We’ve been having weather troubles (see previous post), flooded basement troubles, and DSL trouble at home.  After spending many days rebooting the DSL modem and wireless router, things would work for a few hours or minutes, then crap out again.  Today I spent some time on the phone with the somewhat clueless AT&T tech support who determined it might or might not be the phone line.  After being transferred to the “service guy” he and I both concluded that there wasn’t anything wrong with my phone line and he and I had a nice chat about further options if and when it crapped out on me again.  “Hey, you can get whatever you need at Best Buy, no problem.”  Since the internet was working again, I thought I had fixed the problem by changing out my line filter, but later, when Ken said “Honey, the internet isn’t working again,” I burst into tears and practically ran out the door with a Lucinda Williams CD and said “I can’t fix any more problems right now.” 

Sometimes a girl just has to drive around with some sad as shit music cranked up to feel herself again and get those problems solved.

Later, after a trip to Best Buy for a new modem and a 5-minute install, things seem to be back on track. I won’t hold my breath though.  Somehow the fix seemed way too easy.

Which leads me back to the weird mood that caused me to flee my home in a wild-eyed panic.  I’d been feeling bitchy all day and unexplainably irritated.  And crowded.  I was feeling crowded.  Now mind you, there are only two people living in my house, but today it felt like a one-bedroom apartment full of unemployed in-laws.   My partner Ken is about the kindest, most understanding person on the planet who is more than willing to give me all the space I need, so I admit my craziness was not logical.  Maybe it’s a “woman thaing” or maybe it’s the stupid weather.  Whatever the reason, I just knew I needed to get in the car, crank up some tunes, smoke some cigs, sing out loud and get it out of my system.  Thanks Lucinda darlin’.  I owe you one.

2 Responses to “gettin’ it out of my system”


  1. 1 niku May 8, 2007 at 6:34 am

    I am having many such situations these days though maybe with a bit lesser intensity. Too many trivial issues together do that to me too!

  2. 2 observantbystander May 8, 2007 at 7:57 am

    This week I would be happy as a clam to just stay home and read the 750 page book that has completely captivated me. No pressure, just read and enjoy. That would be bliss.


Leave a Reply

