Perspective

Perspective:  The ability to perceive things in their actual interrelations or comparative importance.

After musing on the only child’s recent academic fuck-ups, I’ve attempted to put them in their rightful place as they relate to my world. 

  1. I can’t make him do what he’s supposed to do.
  2. I can hold him responsible only as far as my checkbook will allow.
  3. I can only hope that he’ll look back on this time and be appropriately pissed off at himself for screwing up a good opportunity to get his college paid for

So, the plan is to give him one more semester to redeem himself which means:

  1. He’ll have to get the loans, etc. to do his fall semester
  2. He’ll have to redo at least a couple of classes and improve his GPA

or…. mommy will cut off his monthly stipend.   He knows he has to be enrolled full time in order for me to maintain his insurance benefits and continue subsidizing part of his rent, so maybe this is the virtual slap in the face he needs.

  Said child was appropriately chagrined and ashamed of himself today when confronted about his poor showing at school, and when asked why he let things get this bad, his reply was:  “I didn’t try hard enough.”  Fair enough.  I was glad he didn’t try to blame his professors, or his job, or anything else.  He took the blame like a man, which is pretty good considering he was raised primarily by a woman (Obsevant now pats herself on the back and stands just a little taller).
ocamq2fpucakeopxncaksbxajcabauozeca7i5y2xcaklljjgca1l32i5camvklgqcaip0xmyca9auwm5ca88nu9vcatd7xcuca6ls3a2ca915k5fca6b1dy6caa11r6cca2e8hz3ca6luvujcaoffkcy.jpg
At least he’s not one of these guys

Perspective:  The Mayan calandar ends in 2012.  Those who channel Ra claim he says we will end our 3rd density cycle in 2011.  Christians believe Armageddon is imminent. 

We might not even be here in a few years, so what’s a few bad grades anyway?  Dance, sister, dance.

6 Responses to “Perspective”


  1. 1 poseidonsmuse June 5, 2007 at 8:24 am

    Here’s another pat on the back from me – pat, pat. You are one very witty and empowered lady – you are a force of Nature. Let’s dance together, shall we?! [grin].

  2. 2 prisonmike June 5, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    God knows I’m not qualified to be dispensing advice on parenting. However…

    He has to want it as much as you want it for him. More, even. In my limited contact with the fruit of your loins, I have come to the conclusion that he’s a good kid with his head screwed on straight. He needs motivation and a sense of vision and yes, perspective. Feeling cliche/platitude overload yet?

    I know in the moment that each development seems like a world-changer, but everything will work out. Maybe not the way you’d exactly like to see it, but it will.

    One of my favorite bumper stickers:
    “Jesus is coming. Look busy!”

    Rhythm & Ribs is the weekend after next. You two game fo it?

  3. 3 observantbystander June 5, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    Thanks for the words of encouragement. I’ve given him the bottom line, even typed it out for him so there wouldn’t be any ambiguity later. Now it’s all up to him. No progress, no more support as of Sept 1st. And there you have it! Parenting sucks a lot of the time.

  4. 4 niku June 11, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    I understand your son’s point of view.
    I think all is ok if he hasnt given up on (or satisfied with) his situation. But most probably he would have.
    If he has, then he needs to find more people to get out of it. Maybe a blog could help!

  5. 5 observantbystander June 12, 2007 at 5:46 am

    Thanks niku – hope things are going well for you this summer. By the way, are you doing graduate work? I remember my early 20s as being a very confusing time, so I understand my son’s frustration with his life right now. It’s just that it doesn’t make it any easier for his mother! Ah, parenting.

  6. 6 niku June 12, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    Only doing undergraduate work!
    I too am quite confused about many things but I hope to solve them sooner or later.


Leave a Reply

