piece of my heart

This is for all of you WordPress people: 

 What the hell is up with the “I Can Has Cheezburger” blog that gets the freakin’ #1 spot on Today’s Hot Blogs EVERY DAY???  I’m not even going to provide a link to it, cause it’s like so lame.

It’s a site with cat pictures and semi-cute captions.  Cat pictures.  Semi-cute captions.  Every day.

One word:  Why?

I may only have 19.36 die hard readers here at ObservantBystander, but by cracky, you’re freakin’ loyal readers.  And I know all y’all have come to expect something more than pictures of cute kitties.  You expect a blog that will entertain and amaze you with words.  Words that come from my heart and soul.  No.  Words that are WRENCHED from my heart and soul, sometimes one letter at a time, oftentimes while biting down hard on a piece of leather to keep the tears of pain from dripping down and shorting out my laptop keyboard.  Yes, you get a little piece of my inner psyche every single day (except on weekends, holidays, holy days, saint days, bank holidays, Bastille Day, Cinco de Mayo, Juneteenth, and Texas Independence Day).  It’s a labor of love, and  I give it as my gift to you, dear readers. 

So take that, I Can Has Cheezeburger.  You and your kitties may get like a billion views per day, and I may harbor a teeny tiny bit of jealousy towards your #1 standing on WordPress, but my readers get something more.  Yes, my readers get the satisfaction of knowing their lives can’t possibly get any stranger than mine.  One word:  Priceless.

Now excuse me while I return to watching Napoleon Dynamite for the umpteenth time.  Kip, you rock.

Kip could totally kick I Can Has Cheezeburger's ass in a cage fight.
15 Responses to “piece of my heart”


  1. 1 RubyShooZ June 11, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Yabbut, I can haz cheezeburgers started out as a place to get updates on recall, so I cut them some slack. ( I wish I had a broader reader base, but I’m so all over w/my writings and am fairly new – also discussing stuff lots don’t wanna face, yanno?

    You’re right, sometimes our writing is gut wrenching and at times not at all easy to do but- we keep at it. It has got to impact folks in some way and I strive for that – both for me and for you (all) cherished readers and commenters.

    I’m outta here for now-my mind and eyes are rebelling.

    Peace!~

  2. 2 poseidonsmuse June 11, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    Observant – After weeks of seeing “I can haz” at the top of the charts, I too, couldn’t resist the temptation to visit that site. Wow…I scratched my head the entire time I was scrolling through the site…It was kind of like watching a traffic accident, “Do you look away, do you watch in horror, do you call 911?!” Lol! Anyways, this is likely someone’s bizarre way of “letting off some steam” [in a bizarre way]. I imagine that it’s “#1” because it receives alot of hits (give a blog a weird title and run with it, I guess….!).

    With that said, I look forward to reading your posts everyday for their depth, insight, humour and genuine approach. There is an honesty and candidness in your writing that I identify with (and I guess that is what attracted our energies to one another in the first place). Like you, I couldn’t imagine a weblog without this type of meaningful interaction. I too, have found my little blip of Cyberspace an outlet for meaningful interaction, and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

    Here’s to “Soul Sisters!”. And as a wise woman once said, “Dance sister dance!” [wink].

  3. 3 observantbystander June 11, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    Ruby, I wonder how Cheezeburgers got from a site about recalls to one dedicated to the celebration of cute cats. Evolution is a wonderous thing!

    Poseidon/Ruby – It seems to me that we all use our blogs as a catharsis of sorts. While I wrote this post tongue in cheek, there are certain truths to it, which you both totally “got”. I love my little slice of cyberspace and the online friendships we’ve developed through our writing. It’s only through giving up some of our inner selves that we can truly develop meaningful relationships. Here’s looking forward to more of the same. Cheers, sisters!

  4. 4 writerchick June 11, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    Damn straight! I am so bugged by that I Can Haz a Cheeseburger or whatever the heck they call it. I think they must have an in with the higher ups. It’s really about kitties and captions? Are you kidding me?

    Like you, I slave my fingers to the bone and I never get the love either.

    Well now you have 20.17 readers. Great rant!
    WC

  5. 5 observantbystander June 11, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Yay! Another reader! My stats are smiling. Glad to have you here writerchick. Love your blog, by the way.

  6. 6 puddlehead June 11, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    I was very confused by “I can has cheezeburgers,” too. There are a few things I find misleading about the site that should be addressed in some sort of litigation:

    1. The site claims there are lolcats, which, to my understanding, means that I could reasonably expect cats laughing out loud. This is clearly a lie as I have not seen a single cat photo in which said cat is laughing or even smiling a little bit.

    2. The icon figure that decorates the site is a cheeseburger. There are no cheeseburgers here to be found.

    3. The liberal use of exclamation points makes me feel like I’m being yelled at, frequently and with hysterics. Frenetic and random “!!!!!!” does not actually increase humor. It turns humor into a freakish carnival soundtrack.

    There are more, I’m sure. Does Kip have to fight all the cats or just a few of them? I question his endurance if he’s up against more than, say, three cats, no matter how hard they’re laughing.

    Thanks, Observant, it was a well-needed post.

  7. 7 Local Tree Child June 12, 2007 at 3:26 am

    I suspect a conspiracy of giant proportions. If you google on pictures regardless of topic 50-60% is pictures of dogs farting and babies drooling. Imagine in a couple years – you won’t be able to find anything without going through millions and millions of cuddly animals showing their genitals…i just wonder who is behind all this?

    The RIAA?

  8. 8 observantbystander June 12, 2007 at 5:38 am

    Pudlehead/LTC:
    Well said! Judging from Kip’s, shall we say, less than perfect physique I’d say he would only be able to take on a couple of cats at a time. Then he would need to eat some steak. It also wouldn’t surprise me if the RIAA was behind this in some way. They seem to want to stick their fingers the proverbial pies of everything digital (pun intended) these days. Please rest assured that you will NEVER see pictures of cuddly animals here at OB. Unless they’re mine.

  9. 9 Simonne June 16, 2007 at 8:37 am

    I LOVE this post! I so totally and whole-heartedly agree. What on earth IS that site all about? I thought maybe because I was an Aussie I just didn’t get the nuances of the humour…? He he he.
    Thanks for leaving such a great comment on my feminism post by the way OB, much appreciated 🙂

  10. 10 observantbystander June 16, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    Simonne: I keep expecting the goon squad to show up at my house since I dared to diss WordPress’ most popular blog. The real question is why aren’t OUR blogs up there on the “most popular” list? I smell voter fraud.

  11. 11 Simonne June 17, 2007 at 3:47 am

    I hear you sista!

  12. 12 Laurie Anne June 21, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    Count me in as No. 20.

  13. 13 ~m July 28, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    The only reason ICHC is as popular as it is is because of VIP hosting.
    If you’re willing to pay 600$ (?) you too can have VIP hosting and compete with this douche of a blog.
    As I said on the WP forum, forget about lameass sites like ICHC and focus on the content in your own backyard.
    btw- very nice blog.
    Keep on, keepin’ on . . .
    ~m

  14. 14 observantbystander July 28, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    ~M: Wow, I didn’t know WordPress did VIP hosting, which explains a lot actually. Thanks for the kind words. I really like your blog too – nice, honest writing. Peace!

  15. 15 b4i4get September 21, 2007 at 12:04 am

    I was bugged by the popularity of ICHC, too. It seemed that people vied to misspell the words of their comments more creatively than anyone else, to the point where they made no sense. I am an older lady writing a blog that I call “Ideas, Insights, and Intuitions”. Much of it is serious thought from years of pondering, but some of my ideas have been presented as humor. Some strange things have also happened to me, which I have long wanted to share. And my Pet Peeve category is misuse of the English language. I am glad to see that there are many more serious writers here than those of the ICHC type. I have bookmarked your blog. I invite you to take a look at mine at http://b4i4get.wordpress.com.

    Well, we’re not all serious here but sometimes I slip one in! So glad you dropped by – there are lots of us ‘older ladies’ that hang out here, and other places on the blogroll. Old enough to be interesting, but not too old to stop learning!


Leave a Reply

