what’s in a name?

So my man Dan Rather’s been dissin’ poor little Katie Couric.  Come on.  He just stated the obvious – that CBS tried to bring the Today ethos to the evening news.   In case you can’t tell, I’m not a big Katie Couric fan.  9 months ago I watched her very first nightly newscast and declared I would never watch  again.  Hey, I gave her a chance.  But when she asked for the audience to send her suggestions for a sign-off phrase because she “just couldn’t think of one” I rolled my eyes and hit the ABC button on my remote.  

So Dan says CBS dumbed down and tarted up the newscast.  Whatever.  The real problem is that Katie Couric’s a lightweight.  Her delivery is too cutsy pie and all huggy-feely and I really don’t want to watch serious news delivered by somebody who looks like they’re about to cry.  I never got that feeling when Elizabeth Vargas was reading the news on ABC so it’s not the fact that Katie’s a chick that turns me off.   Maybe it’s her name that subconsciously freaks people out.   Somehow the diminutive, Katie,  just sounds little-girlish.    Even Charlie Gibson changed to Charles when he moved to the national news desk.  Yeah, he gets it. 

I wish CBS would come to its senses and send little Katie back to the light morning banter she excels at.  When a person’s making $15 million a year, I’d really expect them to be able to think up a simple sign-off phrase on their own. 

Goodnight America.

2 Responses to “what’s in a name?”


  1. 1 RubyShooZ June 13, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Well um, since you brought up Katie Couric I’ll have to admit to having the T.V. on early the other morning and looking up from my newspaper and seeing her standing there twisting her legs, almost jumping up and down in the way my kids used to when they had to go pee. I am steadfastly on the diss Katie Couric bandwagon if you couldn’t tell.

    🙂

  2. 2 observantbystander June 14, 2007 at 6:13 am

    You know, it’s that kind of giddy schoolgirl crap that gives women the ditzy airhead label we all despise. Damn it, Katie!


Leave a Reply

