Name your favorite movie(s)

The heat and humidity returned today so tonight Ken and I are enjoying an air conditioned evening in front of the TV, eating our ice cream and watching AFI’s top 100 movies.  Ken is keeping score to see which one of us has seen the most movies, and judging from the fact that he’s not crowing about his score, I assume I’m winning.  He tends to win on the older, more classic cop dramas and I tend to score higher on the newer, edgier films.  I wonder if they will choose Citizen Kane for #1 movie again, although for the life of me, I never understood that choice.  Granted, a top cinematic effort but not the best story, in my humble opinion.   Not sure which movie I’d choose for #1, as there are too many favorites for me to choose just one – Gone with the Wind, Dr. Strangelove, Blazing Saddles, Annie Hall, The Godfather (I and II), Clockwork Orange.

What are your most favorite movies, or if you can do it, which one would you choose for best movie you’ve ever seen?

20 Responses to “Name your favorite movie(s)”


  1. 1 Simonne June 20, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Oh, I always struggle with this question! I agree re Citizen Kane. We studied it at Uni and I get that for its time it was brilliant, but now? Anyway, some of my favourites are ‘Frida’, ‘Amistad’, ‘Gallipoli’,… oh too many, brain-freeze, might have to revisit later!
    😉

  2. 2 jh June 20, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    Harold and Maude? Life of Brian?

  3. 3 observantbystander June 21, 2007 at 5:42 am

    Simonne: Loved Frida myself – beautifully done. I’m on the fence about CK. Maybe they should retire it from competition? Have not seen Amistad or Gallipoli (my bad).

    JH: H&M is a definite fave. Loved the ending to Life of Brian when they’re all singing Look on the Bright Side of Life as they’re hanging on the crosses. Only Monty Python could do that and totally get away with it.

  4. 4 poseidonsmuse June 21, 2007 at 7:33 am

    So many good movies to choose from there (and a good question too!). From your list, I would have to say “Blazing Saddles” – I am a closet Western Fan (I loved “The Good, the Bad and the Ugly.” [who doesn’t love that classic, gritty soundtrack?!].

    I loved Hitchcock’s “The Birds” (even visited Bodega Bay where it was filmed). “Stand by Me” was a transcendant 80’s classic. My most recent faves include “Amelie” (love the gnome!) and “Big Fish.” Give me a movie with heart and soul…

    Great Post!

    ps. Monty Python is fabulous too!

  5. 5 observantbystander June 21, 2007 at 8:28 am

    PM: All of those are great. Especially liked Amelie also. I think the word twee would be an apt descritpion. (finally, I got to use that word in a sentence!) I once went to a Clint Eastwood spaghetti western marathon. Love that steely-eyed look.

  6. 6 V- June 21, 2007 at 8:39 am

    I’m definitely stuck in the past on this one. I adore Bette Davis, Audrey Heburn, Katherine Hepburn,Carry Grant, Jimmay Stewart…the list goes on and on

    Off of the top of my head in no particular order,
    1. All About Eve ( Bette Davis is amazing!)
    2. Any Hitchcock but I’ll say Virtigo
    3. Roman Holiday (Has there ever been a more beautiful women than Audrey?)
    4. Mr Smith goes to Washington
    5. African Queen

    I guess my all time favorite would have to be Some like it Hot. I’ve probably seen it over 100 times

  7. 7 observantbystander June 21, 2007 at 11:25 am

    V – I’m impressed. You really hit the nail on the head about Audrey Hepburn. I’m a big fan of The Philadelphis Story myself – love the dialouge in that movie.

  8. 8 Brian o Vretanos June 21, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    Recently I’ve been mainly watching films when my 8-year old daughter visits, and ones that we’ve both really enjoyed (and watched several times) have included:

    Bringing up Baby
    King Kong (the original)
    The Thin Man & sequels

    I find the fact that these films that can appeal to someone born three-quarters of a century after they were made rather impressive.

    I’m a big Hitchcock fan – I think that “Frenzy” is generally under-rated, as is “Murder!”.

    At the moment I’m re-watching “Only Angels Have Wings” (Cary Grant again), “Le Gout des Autres” and “Die Hard” every 6 months or so, so I suppose they’re currently my favourites.

    “Twelve Angry Men” and “The Odd Couple” would also have to be high on my personal list.

    The thing I find most strange about the Citizen Kane thing is that so many critics with so many different films to choose from are so consistent. It’s also a good, not particularly high brow film, so it’s not as if they’re playing the kind of one-upmanship game that “intellectuals” do with James Joyce…

  9. 9 observantbystander June 21, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Brian: Love Carey Grant myself. He’s consistently good, not to mention debonair. Your comment about watching classic movies with your daughter reminded me of the time I made my (then) 10 year old son watch Frankenstein, Dracula, and The Invisible Man. Told him he’d be glad someday that he’d seen those classics, which of course he is. Thanks for commenting!

  10. 10 writerchick June 21, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    Hey OB,
    I’m a Hitchcock junkie, so anything of his but especially Rear Window, Strangers on a Train & Shadow of a Doubt.
    Also,
    Seven
    Presumed Innocent
    Penny Serenade
    Sabrina
    Breakfast at Tiffany’s
    Terms of Endearment
    As Good as it Gets
    The Lost Weekend
    Wuthering Heights
    As well as pretty much all the other movies mentioned. I’m an addict, I can’t ever see too many movies.
    Wc

  11. 11 Laurie Anne June 21, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    THis is a great question I’d go with:
    1. Gone with the Wind
    2. Life is Beautiful
    3. Jean Cocteau’s Beauty and the Beast
    4. The Crying Game
    5. The Virgin Suicides
    6. Return of the Jedi
    7. The Bridges of Madison County
    8. Wuthering Heights
    9. The Bishop’s Wife (Carey Grant and an awesome holiday movie)
    10. To Kill a Mockingbird
    11. The Heart is a Lonely Hunter

    There’s my two cents!

  12. 12 anonymum June 22, 2007 at 1:29 am

    as good as it gets
    field of dreams
    to kill a mockingbird
    remember the titans
    anything hitchcock….anything at all…loved them all…
    and far too many others to list them all…i’d be here all night

    figured i’d repay the visit seeing as you were nice enough to come to my place 🙂

  13. 13 observantbystander June 22, 2007 at 6:32 am

    WC/Anonymum: Also love Hitchcock. I watch Psycho every time it comes on – the camera work is incredible.

    LaurieAnne: Glad you came to visit. I’m also a big fan of Virgin Suicides and Life is Beautiful – two movies I happened on serendipidously (sp?) on cable and have watched over and over.

    Another one of my all time faves is Sense & Sensibility w/Emma Thompson. Anything she does is fabulous.

  14. 14 prisonmike June 22, 2007 at 11:32 am

    1. The Shawshank Redemption
    2. 2001 A Space Odyssey
    3. Dr. Strangelove
    4. Cool Hand Luke
    5. Marathon Man
    6. Sorcerer (i can hear everyone saying “what??”. it’s a 1977 William Friedkin film about 4 men in a South American jungle put there under disparate circumstances working together to haul leaking dynamite through 40 miles of rain forest to put out an oil well fire.)
    7. Defending Your Life
    8. O Brother, Where Art Thou?
    9. A Hard Day’s Night
    10. In Cold Blood

  15. 15 observantbystander June 22, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    Mikie: I put Socerer on my Netflix. I remember you and Jim talking about that one when we had dinner w/Pender (WTF’s up with him? Got all famous and doesn’t come home anymore). Ken LOVES Shawshank Redemption and Oh Brother… In Cold Blood is a favorite of mine. I always have to check the doors and windows when I watch it.

  16. 16 prisonmike June 22, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    The Loveman is coming back this summer. I’ll have a save the date for you soon re dinner with him. I served as a go-between for Jim H. to get tickets from him for Conan. He’s going to NYC next month. The Loveman came through. Jim promised to show him how grateful he was when he got there.

  17. 17 Di June 26, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Hi observantbtstander.

    I’m Di. Hope you don’t mind if you make a comment.

    I’m a big Pulp Fiction Fan. I love ‘The Dance ‘. I watch that dance ‘alot’.

    I also love Just like Heaven. It’s just so romantic.

    And the film that resembles myself in certain aspects is Bridgit Jones, I have to love it just for that reason.

    Thanks for having me look at the films I love, for sure when I go from this post I will come up with more. 🙂

    Respect

    Di.

  18. 18 observantbystander June 26, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    Di: Welcome. I, too keep thinking of more and more. Briget Jones was good, and I saw Pulp Fiction the night it came out and was blown away by the intensity of the story. Thanks for stopping by.

  19. 19 Brewster June 26, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    Motorcycle Diaries

    A beautifully made movie… some moments are like living poetry. Also the impact of this movie is heightened if you don’t know what it’s about before you watch it.

  20. 20 observantbystander June 27, 2007 at 5:42 am

    Brewster: I have not seen M’cycle Diaries but will make a point to check it out. Thanks for the suggestion, #1 son of my soul sister!


Leave a Reply

