Happy birthday!

Happy 60th Birthday Meredith Baxter!  You truly are the queen of the Lifetime Movie channel.  Your portrayal of women in various personal crises set the acting standard for women’s televisionmeredith-baxter.jpg and you literally paved the way for those who followed in your footsteps. Yeah, I’m talking about some of the greats like Gail O’Grady and and Stephanie Zimbalist.  And let’s not forget Annette O’Toole and Marcia Gay Harden.   That’s some pure Grade B acting chops, and I’m not just saying that.  You’re right there in the same league as them,  Meredith Baxter, and we salute you!  In fact when you didn’t win the Emmy for “A Woman Scorned: The Betty Broderick Story”, I boycotted the Lifetime Movie channel for a whole 2 weeks.  That’s how much I respect you.

I know you’re more well-known for that Family Ties show, which I guess was pretty popular back in the eighties.  Sorry, didn’t see it – which I really regret now that I’ve seen The Betty Broderick story.  So, I guess you got to work with Michael J Fox before he started getting shaky, huh?  That’s pretty sweet.   Ken really likes those Back to the Future movies, but he hasn’t seen you in  “Her Final Fury: Betty Broderick, The Last Chapter.”  You rock, Meredith Baxter.

I don’t really like that you dropped the Birney part of your last name.  I liked it better when you were Meredith Baxter-Birney (I love alliteration!),  but I guess your ex-husband wanted his last name back, huh?  Bummer.  Hey, I just thought of something.  It’s probably a good thing you weren’t really married to Michael Gross cuz then you would have been Meredith Baxter-Gross.  Not cool.

Anyway, have a rockin’ good birthday, Meredith Baxter!  I hope there’s a few more Lifetime movies left in your career.  I’ll keep my fingers crossed for ya.

5 Responses to “Happy birthday!”


  1. 2 Simonne June 22, 2007 at 3:37 am

    You’re hilarious!

  2. 3 writerchick June 22, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    Hmm, I could swear I wished MBB a happy birthday yesterday but I guess I was hallucinating again. HBD MBB! And nice of you to remember OB.
    WC

  3. 4 poseidonsmuse June 23, 2007 at 8:08 am

    Thoughtful and clever! I would have to agree with you on the alliterative part too – I much preferred MBB to MB or the alternative MBG (which sounds awfully similar to that cute little car – the MGB). OOhhh….we could have fun with this! Hope you have some sun in your part of the world today, Observant. Have a great weekend!

  4. 5 observantbystander June 23, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Thanks all! I enjoyed writing that one for you. PM: Some sun/some clouds, but that’s OK – it’s mojitos tonight no matter what!


Leave a Reply

