Haiku for Andi

I’ve wanted to write about my friend, Andi’s, pottery for the last few day.  Not being a potter myself, I was at a loss as to how to start.  Poseidon’s poem yesterday was my inspiration for this haiku (thanks, PM!)

Potter’s wheel spins ’round
The clay speaks to the artist:
“This is who I am.”

Pinched bowl by Andi

Pinched Bowl by Andi

9 Responses to “Haiku for Andi”


  1. 1 Simonne July 1, 2007 at 1:23 am

    I wish I could come up with such insight when I was at a loss for words!! Good one. And the bowl is amazing 🙂

  2. 2 observantbystander July 1, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Thanks Simonne. Andi is always giving me little presents, so yesterday I took this picture and laid the haiku on top (using Microsoft publisher), printed it out on a postcard and gave it to her last night. It was nice to do something for her, for a change.

  3. 3 poseidonsmuse July 1, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    Observant – I think my crappy computer konked out while I was posting to your comment last night (because I did respond to your Haiku last night – must be that damned “back” button thing again). Anyways – an enchanting Haiku for a very delectable piece of pottery. Does this bowl have a “name” by the way? Looks like something that should grace a mermaid’s shelf! Gorgeous.

  4. 4 poseidonsmuse July 1, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Maybe I need a Mac….

  5. 5 observantbystander July 1, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    PM: I found your comment, it’s attached to the photo (interesting, I didn’t know one could post comments on a photo). No name for the piece, that I know of. I love the watery colors of it also (absolutely perfect colors for you, PM). I have one like it, but the colors are deeper blues and greens – more apppopriate for my earth sign.

    Mac people keep telling me I need a Mac.

  6. 6 prisonmike July 3, 2007 at 9:41 am

    It’s called a pinched bowl or a pinchpot. Entirely done by hand, no throwing in this piece. It’s one of her signature pieces.
    I hate to be so damned commercial, but if anyone wants to know more, just go to http://www.pottersobsession.com to find out about Andi’s studio and gallery.
    An amazingly talented woman.
    Thanks again sister friend for the hospitality the other night. Don’t forget to bow when your guest enters the room though.
    We got home Sat. night/Sun. morning to find the sump pump had quit and there was mucho agua in el basemente.
    New sump pump ($$$$$$$) and we’re dry again.

  7. 7 observantbystander July 3, 2007 at 10:55 am

    Mikie, Aw crap (a little sump pump humor). Thanks for the link to the website also. I had a blash Sat nite too, and we’re really going to have to work on your manners. Where’s my bread and butter note???? Just kidding – the bowing was quite enough.

  8. 8 observantbystander July 3, 2007 at 10:55 am

    Did I say I had a blash?? Aw fuck, you know what I mean.

  9. 9 poseidonsmuse July 3, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    Wow…did I miss something? I want a “blash” too! Just kidding! I have a blash everytime I hit the wine. Thanks Prisonmike for the link – I’ll check it out (and there’s nothing shameful about supporting an artist!) [wink!].


Leave a Reply

