Let’s hear it for the girls

Our little goddess communitylaussel_venus.jpg has inspired me more than I can say and I think I’m finally finding my spiritual path.  I’m feeling the power of the feminine rising in my soul, strangely at a time when my estrogen levels are ebbing away.  The world needs our wisdom and power now, more than ever.

I dreamed of our dear poseidonsmuse last night.  Although we’ve never met, she was there, the woman I see in my mind’s eye.  Her story about “That Place” kept spinning through my head last night, all the way into my dreams. 

The summer drifts on its lazy path here, while down under, Simonne is living our opposite season.  Is it very cold there?  Do you miss the summer?  Does it snow?  We need a geography lesson!  Answers please, our dear Aussie friend. 

WriterChick is suffering the summer blogging blues, but the real question is: What is that mystery melon growing in her garden?

Ruby keeps on keeping on and I don’t know how she does it.  Her spirit is incredibly strong and I believe it will take more than breast cancer to keep her down.  We love you, sweet Ruby!

Venus, my spirit cousin.  You have evolved into a magical women!  Your mother knew what she was doing when she named you, my dear.

Deb and Grace and all the other women I’m just now getting to know:  Your words and comments make me feel surrounded by friendship.  I need for you to know how important it is to me that you take the time to read my words.  Writing has been cathartic for me, but I can’t do it in a vacuum. 

Thank you all, you wonderful, beautiful, magical women! 

19 Responses to “Let’s hear it for the girls”


  1. 1 poseidonsmuse July 17, 2007 at 9:59 pm

    You are a beautiful soul Observant. Thank you for your gorgeous words! I feel so very lucky to have you in my life. I am so glad that you feel empowered by the light of our goddess community. The spark of our souls has ignited quite the fire hasn’t it?

    Venus is rising… “Dance Sister Dance….!”

    Hugs my Goddess friend.

  2. 2 Simonne July 18, 2007 at 3:18 am

    Oh, OB, you made me cry! I love our Goddess community here too. I realised it fully the other day when I had to wait alllll day until I could check out what you and the Muse and Roob had been up to! The cool thing for me is that I LIVE IN THE FUTURE, so I am often the first one to read new posts that you guys have just launched. (Muse, your comment on my last post was totally adorable!!)
    OB, this is a lovely tribute to us all. I’m so glad you’re finding your spiritual path and I feel so honoured to be involved in a small part of it.
    Much love to you all, beautiful, powerful women xx

  3. 3 Simonne July 18, 2007 at 3:24 am

    Oh, oops, forgot to answer the geography question! Snow?!! Here down under?!! I live on the west coast of Australia, in Perth, and it doesn’t EVER snow here. The winters are fairly mild – it was 23 degrees and sunny today! It does get cold, but not for long, and never below zero. Parts on the East coast get snow and there are ski resports etc there. Do I miss summer? Not yet! Perth summers can be awfully hot – like over 40 degrees hot, so a break from the heat can be good. In saying that, we have some of the best beaches in the world here. I do live in an amazingly beautiful place (on the coast, but backed by forest and bush, and beyond that the red centre desert). But for now I’m enjoying snuggling with CJ under mountains of doonas, and cuddling in our favourite cafe over hot coffees 🙂

  4. 4 karen July 18, 2007 at 5:42 am

    Simonne: Your winters sound divine. I spent several weeks in S. America during their S. Hemisphere winter and found it to be a wonderful change from our wet and bracingly (sometimes shockingly) cold winters. Warm/arid days and chilly nights.

    I’m loving this time of my life right now, for although there are definitely struggles, there is also a sense of peace and fulfillment that I’ve never felt before. Thank you for being in my spiritual circle.

    Hugs!

  5. 5 Deb July 18, 2007 at 5:46 am

    Aw, this was a great post!

    I’ve been enjoying reading everyone else’s blog this morning. Funny how it should be so easy to click on the blogs on anyone’s blogroll, but it really does make a difference to have a quick introduction. So thanks for that, and I feel humbled to have been mentioned in such great company.

    I love your writing, your sense of humor, your wry honesty. I’m so glad you’re blogging, and that I stumbled upon your blog. You have a warm and welcoming way about you, and I felt at home instantly. “Surrounded by friendship” indeed.

    Hi to everyone else this morning as well. I have a feeling I’ll be haunting your blogs now too! 😀

  6. 6 poseidonsmuse July 18, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Observant – You are one incredible lady!

    Deb – Welcome! Haunt away…!

  7. 7 observantbystander July 18, 2007 at 10:29 am

    Deb – Definitely! We loooove readers. I spent a year blogging on Blogger, but I feel more at home on WordPress. The community seems more inviting for some reason. Something I’ve found with blogging is that generally, people want to be read and are very welcoming to new readers. I’m glad you’re with us, Deb!

    PM – talk about incredible! Dance sister!

  8. 8 Grace July 18, 2007 at 10:56 am

    ((( O.B. ))) YES!!! YES!!!! YES!!! I so agree with you – The Divine Divas of Blogland are amazing!! And finding YOU, sweet new friend, has been a blessing. Getting to know all of the women…having the give and take of wisdom, the sharing of LIFE,,,is making my journey so much fuller, sweeter and joyful. THANK YOU!

  9. 9 observantbystander July 18, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Grace – We rock, don’t we? Too bad we can’t bottle this energy and send it around the world a few times.

  10. 10 V July 18, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    Confession -It’s only been in the last few years that I’ve come to appreciate the women in my life. I spent most of my life completely independent, with only my male friends to keep me company. My jaded perceptions of females as petty, shallow, high maintenance
    creatures caused me to turn away from the blessings of sisterhood. I never knew what a support system of amazing women I was missing out on. Unfortunately all too often as women we are our own worst enemies. The women in my life are unique, inspiring, truthful, hilarious and beautiful. I get my strength from them and I can’t imagine my life with out my girlfriends. Thank you for the encouragement Cuz and for letting me into your blog world to meet you equally inspiring friends. You are a woman I truly admire, respect and love! Girl Power! 🙂

  11. 11 writerchick July 18, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    OB!
    What a sweet and delightful post. I’m still wearing my giant magifying miner’s cap, hoping to discover what myserious thing is growing in the garden. I’ll be happy to send you pics.

    Glad to know you and to have found your blog – you are a kick in the pants.
    Wc

  12. 12 observantbystander July 18, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    V/WC, Thanks ladies! V, I spent many years being very male-oriented also, and eschewing a lot of female companionship for the same reasons you listed. Even now, working with so many men every day, it’s hard to keep my femaleness in focus.

    WC, I had a mystery plant in my garden this spring, and I was just positive it was going to bloom as some kind of magnificent flower. Then my friend Andi told me it was a weed with flowers that eventually turn into very pesky cockleburrs. Needless to say, it was promptly pulled out and thrown in the trash. So much for my mystery plant…

  13. 13 RubyShooZ July 18, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    Thank you for the honorable mention and hey, it is an honor to be in the company of such beautiful women and beautiful spirits.

    Thank you all for being in my life and in my heart.

    Hello to those of you I haven’t had contact with – *yet* –

    Peace, love and understanding and hugs all round.

  14. 14 observantbystander July 19, 2007 at 9:35 am

    Ruby, Hugs to you too, Ruby. Now if we can just take over the male-dominated power in the world, we could really make things better. Nah, probably won’t happen in our lifetime.

  15. 15 Grace July 19, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    Hey! I was just over at Simonnes place and saw that you’d been married three times…me, too! LOL :-O

  16. 16 Dawn July 20, 2007 at 1:11 am

    Love your blog and just had to smile at your description of looking for your dog. I have just come back from a trip to the other side of Australia and my sister (who lives hundreds of miles from me) has my dog Oscar. When my sister came in last night from choir, she found her partner Fred, lying on the floor next to Oscar telling him how much he loved him! How cute is that?

    By the way, I live near Simonne and I think she meant ‘ski resorts’ in case you wondered if it was something you hadn’t heard of. It is snowing madly in the eastern states of Australia, even in the suburban areas. There were some great shots on TV of kids going to school in the snow. They were having a ball and it will probably be the only time it will happen in their lifetime. It is very unusual. We have snow on the mountains, not usually anywhere else. As Simonne said, we don’t have snow in our lovely sunny part of Australia although it is very cold first thing in the mornings at this time of year.

  17. 17 observantbystander July 20, 2007 at 6:49 am

    Grace – Isn’t that a hoot? Marriage was one of those things I kept trying to get right, but * kept getting it very very wrong instead. I had to dig pretty deep to find out why, to sort things out, and learn to accept a man into my life that was actually good for me instead of always going for the “challenging” ones.

  18. 18 observantbystander July 20, 2007 at 6:53 am

    Dawn: I’d love to visit Australia sometime in my life. I lived in the south (Texas) for many years and we hardly ever got snow there either, but when it did – look out! The whole city closed down for the duration and everyone got an unexpected vacation. Not like here in the Midwest, where it’s like a contest to see who can get to work in spite of the ice, snow, sleet, etc. Stiff upper lip and all that.


  1. 1 The Goddess Within… « Ramblings from the Mermaid Tavern Trackback on July 19, 2007 at 9:15 am

Leave a Reply

