The dog days of summer

It seems summer arrived here while I was vacationing in the mountains;zoom-sunflower.jpg it’s 8:30pm and still 92F at my house.  The humidity (which my hair loves but my sweat glands do not) is horrible,  and I’ve taken to hiking up my shirt in front of every fan in the house I pass by,  just to cool “the girls” off.  The cats lie around in the air conditioning, barely moving, including the old crotchety cat who is usually holed up in the back of closet somewhere.  Even she can now be found spread out on the recliner, trying to stay cool.  

Whenever I come home from work, the dog and I have a little meet & greet at the door, with him doing his happy dance and licking my face and me saying the usual, nauseating dog-owner things: Oh you good boy!  Have you been a good boy today!  Mommy missed you, did you miss mommy?  Ok, now get the hell off of me.   Today I walked in the door, expecting to hear the usual sounds of Coco jumping off the bed and bounding down the stairs, but there was nothing but dead silence.  Puffy wuff-wuff-wuff!  I called (don’t laugh).  Nothing.  Coco, where arrrrre you?  Silence.  This never happens and it’s starting to freak me out.  Could he have slipped out the door when Ken left today?  Is he romping around the neighborhood, oblivious and stupid to everything around him except what he can smell and pee on?  Is he out in traffic???  Is he dead?   Owning this dog is a lot like having a 2-year old again.

I run up the stairs to the bedroom and there he is.  Lying on the bed, (his head on a pillow for crying out loud), sacked out to the world.  Coco!  He raises his head, squints at me, then promptly goes back to sleep.  He’s hot too, I think, grateful that he’s safe and sound.  I lie down next to him, my hand on his head, and close my eyes.  After awhile the cat comes up to join us.  We all take a summer nap, cool and contented, while the ceiling fan swirls the air conditioned air around us and the heat bakes the outside world. 

15 Responses to “The dog days of summer”


  1. 1 Simonne July 18, 2007 at 9:09 pm

    OB, this is so well written that I have no empathy at all because I’m revelling in the story. I want more! I love it when you write like this, you’re very talented you know.

    Well, I hope you (and the menagerie) survive the heat. I’m sitting at my desk, listening to the rain in my pink ugg boots with a hot coffee. I’m supposed to be working (I work from home a lot) and instead I’m here being entertained by you and visiting my Goddess friends (as they cool their fanny in front of unsuspecting fans). I sure hope my boss doesn’t track me down here!

    PS ‘Fanny’ in American and ‘fanny’ in Australia are quite different things! (Which is why we find the term ‘fanny-pack’ so totally hilarious!!)

  2. 2 Deb July 18, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    I’ve heard about those fanny packs, Simonne! 😀

    This was a great story! My dogs always slept with their heads on pillows too. That’s why I had two pillows on my bed, though naturally they preferred mine.

    Seriously, this is why we should start a National Siesta campaign. Summer days are made for mid-day naps with menageries!

    I’m jealous of “the girls” though. You have those? I have two mosquito bites! 😀

    Okay, maybe that beer wasn’t such a good idea, especially since I have an earlyish am flight tomorrow.

    Oops! Take care, and I am already looking forward to the posts I’ll have to read when I get back!

  3. 3 karen July 19, 2007 at 5:42 am

    Simonne: Oh geez, I just looked up “fanny in australia” on google and now I know why fanny pack sounds so damn funny to y’all! Wow. I never knew that! Thanks for the writing kudos. Coming from you (exceptionally talented writer that you are), that’s the kind of compliment that makes my day! Stay warm, dearie.

    Deb: My girls used to be nice and small and pert. Now they’ve taken on a life of their own! It takes an industrial strength bra to keep them lifted and separated and if I ever find a comfortable bra again, I will buy stock in the company. Enjoy your trip, but we’ll miss you while you’re gone.

  4. 4 poseidonsmuse July 19, 2007 at 7:51 am

    LOL!!!! All of you ladies crack me up – Seriously! Wow! Observant – I agree with Simonne entirely. You are an amazing story-teller. You pull your readers into the story rather seductively. We can’t stop reading because we “feel” what you are trying to convey. I also had a rather gorgeous image of your pets and home in my mind as I read what you wrote!!!! Fantastic!

    I too have a “pillow-loving” dog! She sleeps on a futon (of her very own!) at night and she uses pillows whenever she can! When “demoted” to a dog bed – she gets a little disgruntled to say the least! – because she can’t use a pillow! Anyways, she has a black haircoat, and although it tends to be thinner, she gets very hot in summer, so her Siestas (and she is a grey”hound” to boot) are LONG and LANGOROUS! (I put “hound” in quotes – because, although they can run very fast, they are LAZY like hounds!!!!). Lol…I love her like crazy.

    Thanks for your post! I love hearing about your pets!

  5. 5 observantbystander July 19, 2007 at 9:38 am

    PM: Isn’t it funny how the posts that you write off the top of your head end up being the best ones? Pillow loving dogs are so cute! Coco had to sleep on his dog bed at my mom’s while we were on vacation, so maybe he’s catching up on his pillow time now that he’s home.

  6. 6 poseidonsmuse July 19, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Lol! I would agree with you on the spontaneous post bit…When your message and feeling comes from the heart, then the words come easily – nothing is forced. I guess that is the beauty of being an “Observant” person!

    I do love it when dogs “use” pillows. In fact, today, my dog was crashed out on my (human) bed in a very luxurious position (legs and upper body draped over my fancy cushions…with such a look of utter contentment on her face as I went over to greet her!). She is such an incredibly gorgeous being. She loves me so completely – and I adore her to pieces.

    Coco sounds like a treasure too! It’s amazing how dogs (like children) pick up on the “vibes” of the home and family. Your home must be a very calm and inviting place for your animals to feel at peace there! I’m sure our dogs would get along famously!

  7. 7 Dawn July 20, 2007 at 1:12 am

    PS Your son looks gorgeous

  8. 8 Dawn July 20, 2007 at 1:21 am

    That’s strange – I submitted a story on my dog but it doesn’t seem to be here – yet it was before! Only my PS survived.

  9. 9 Dawn July 20, 2007 at 1:25 am

    Oh – I see where it is now. Anyway poseidonsmuse I can’t get into your blog – I get a message saying it’s not safe and asking if I want to instal some program and I said yes but nothing happened.

  10. 10 karen July 20, 2007 at 5:44 am

    Dawn – you can access poseidonsmuse via my blogroll under Ramblings….Mermaid Tavern. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you became one of our “regulars”. Are you Simonne’s sister?

  11. 11 Simonne July 20, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    Hee! Mum might as well be by sister! She looks like it! (Hi Mummy!)

  12. 12 observantbystander July 20, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    Simonne: (good morning on the other side of the world). Oh, how sweet! Your mom sounds like a great person from what you’ve written about her. Tell her to come back anytime.

  13. 13 Simonne July 21, 2007 at 7:09 am

    She is a sweetie 🙂 She’ll be back!
    Sx

  14. 14 Dawn July 28, 2007 at 6:29 am

    Gee thanks everybody – still can’t get into Mermaid Tavern – I only get the top part of the page and it says ‘error’ and the arrows are greyed out so I can’t scroll. Sigh.

  15. 15 poseidonsmuse July 28, 2007 at 8:17 am

    Dawn – Oh no! I am sorry to hear that – I would love to have you for a visit. Darnit! I wonder what the problem is? This “Tavern” doesn’t ID/card people for “Age of Majority” (grin)…so I don’t know what is going on..


Leave a Reply

