No longer a reject

Caution:  This post is just me gloating 

I’m so freaking happy to report that I have now had 3 posts on the FEATURE page of IndieBloggers!  And after being rejected by McSweeney’s for this {how dare they say I’m not “right” (their way of saying “not funny enough) at this time}.  I’m a goddamn laugh riot!  Take THAT, McSweeney’s.  Booya!

16 Responses to “No longer a reject”


  1. 1 kris July 23, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    Booya is right. We couldn’t be happier that you’re over at IB with us. Rock on witya bad self.

  2. 2 V- July 23, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    I’m not surprised. You are a great writer and have wonderful knac for taking the everyday/ordinary and making it freaking hilarious. Good for the IndieBloggers and their
    obvious great taste in Blogs!

  3. 3 observantbystander July 23, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Thanks ladies! Haven’t been feeling hilariously funny lately, but plan to get in the mood soon. Kris, thanks for stopping by, oh you of about a million comments per post (oh how I covet thou’s multitude of comments. Sigh)

  4. 4 poseidonsmuse July 23, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    Observant – Congratulations!!!! IndieBloggers have some class, taste and style (they get my vote!). You are a very talented writer and deserve the recognition. I particularly liked your comment on your SSRI post regarding “sex toys”….hmm…..gets me thinking! “Keep it clean, PM. Keep it clean!” Anyways, “I Can Has Whatever the Fuck” has nothing on you – my dear friend. You are one hell of an Indie Princess!

  5. 5 poseidonsmuse July 23, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    By the way – you have never been, or ever will be a “reject” (smack – there’s a little tap on your butt…shame on you!!!!) [grin!].

  6. 6 observantbystander July 23, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    Muse – Thanks girlfriend. Take that, I can haz Cheezeburgers! (your rank has slipped to #2 by the way. Take that!)

  7. 7 writerchick July 23, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    Hey OB!
    Big congrats! I’m so impressed. And btw, what is Indie Bloggers? I’m so clueless about this stuff.
    WC

  8. 8 observantbystander July 23, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    WC – it’s a site you request to join, then you can submit postings to them. I have a link on my page for it. Give it a shot! You’d be great for it.

  9. 9 Simonne July 23, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    Cool! I’m with WC! Will have to check it out.
    You rock girlfriend 🙂

  10. 10 observantbystander July 23, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    Sx: Thanks! You rock too, Aussie friend.

  11. 11 Deb July 24, 2007 at 5:15 am

    Congrats! And I agree with PM – you were never a reject. We, after all, have great taste! 😉

    And now we know IB does too!

  12. 12 observantbystander July 24, 2007 at 5:50 am

    Thanks Deb, you little sweetie! Hope your weekend getaway was a success. I’ll visit later.

  13. 13 RubyShooZ July 24, 2007 at 8:01 am

    Good going my friend.

    I have admired your writing style since I’ve been reading here and only wish I could write like you.

    Peace, love and understanding my laugh riot friend.

  14. 14 Grace July 24, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Woooo Whoooo! I am SO out of the “blog” loop, that I don’t what Indie Blogging is! but CONGRATULATIONS!! You’ve an amazing talent!

    Your story made me grin. I remember Mom and Dad, hungover from Saturday night, dropping my brother and I off at Sunday School so they could BOTH go home and relax LOL (my dad was a smoker and I swear I could hear his voice when you wrote that “God DAMMIT” LOL

    Every now and then my ‘holy roller’ rooted Mom would feel too guilty, I guess. She’d drag us all to church then. AND drag me up with her to the alter where she’d do some very effective weeping and moaning, repenting of her sins.

    A couple weeks later, the cocktail parties would be in full swing once again.

    Such an Odd dynamic – Partying with Jesus.

  15. 15 observantbystander July 24, 2007 at 10:47 am

    Grace: My dad’s other favorite was “JE-SUS CHRIST!” I learned all my good swearing from my dad. Partying for Jesus – loved that!

  16. 16 SurfaceEarth July 25, 2007 at 11:09 am

    Wow, what a great piece. It is so real, I love the way you manage to recall a memory of your mother trying to shove you off to church while cursing. Priceless.


Leave a Reply

