Got those car-wreck blues again (and again and again)

If it’s true that bad things come in three’s, then things should be OK now.   My son (age 20)  and his girlfriend (age 19) have been involved in three car accidents since June.  Since these are the only accidents either one has had since licenses were earned at age 16, I hope this is a fluke and not a developing trend.    Let’s review:

Accident #1:  Son was in HIS car, following girlfriend in HER car.  They were both talking on their cell phones – to each other, mind you – when GF crested a hill and had to make a sudden stop.  Son hits GF’s car.  Son only has liability insurance – his airbags went off, her bumper is broken.  Result:  No police were called, no insurance was turned in.  Both parties were properly ragged by parents regarding cell phone use while driving (yeah, like I’m sure THAT did any good).  All repairs were done through some family connections and all seemed to be well with the world until…

Accident #2:  10 days ago son was stopped at a stoplight.  Light turns green.  Escalade behind him decides to go before son has moved.  Result:  Rear-ended by Escalade, not my son’s fault.  Current status:  Other driver ticketed, insurance turned in, two estimates have been procured and repairs are scheduled to start.  Car is still driveable which is important because…..

Accident #3:  Today son and GF are westbound.  Eastbound car decides to turn left without yielding to oncoming traffic.  Result:  GF hits truck.  Current status:  Other driver ticketed, both cars towed, GF’s car totaled.   I was called about noon by a very hysterical girlfriend in tears.  “Deep breaths”  I told her.  “I’ll be there soon.”  I show up.  The other driver’s mother has shown up.  Girlfriend’s mother then shows up.  The moms hug.  The drivers hug (the other driver was a 19 year old girl also), moms hug the drivers.  Tears are dried and backs are rubbed.  Paperwork is generated, tow trucks load up the vehicles.   GF now has no car, which is important because…

College classes start again next week.  We have car issues to deal with and all the work that was done on GF’s car in June was all for naught.  The fact that I had to have the plumbers out here this morning for a main drain clog (tree roots) didn’t help much today either.

And that’s life sometimes, isn’t it?   Just when things are going pretty smoothly, life barges in and says “Ha! I can still fuck with you, Citizen X.”  And yes, I guess it can –  or at least it can try really hard.

 Tomorrow:  Friday Funk Party for sure.

17 Responses to “Got those car-wreck blues again (and again and again)”


  1. 1 Deb August 16, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    Wow. That is some serious craziness! I’m glad everyone was unhurt in each accident, but damn, what a headache even the most minor accident is months later. Hopefully you’ll have a nice quiet weekend to recover.

    Amen to that! The Parents return from France tomorrow night and Daisy will be back in her regular home on Sunday. Slowly getting back to normal…

  2. 2 V- August 16, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Wow, I’m so glad every one is ok. Poor kids..poor moms..

    Troy and I had all three of our cars unexpectedly go into the shop two weeks ago.(to the tune of $1400) We were driving home after dropping his car off at the shop(the last of the three to break down)and were lamenting our circumstances in the 100+ heat with no air conditioning, no money, completely inconvenienced, feeling like the gods were kicking our asses. We passed by Research hospital and saw a older woman sitting outside the hospital in a wheelchair, dripping with sweat, waiting for the city bus. It really put it into perspective for us.

    Hang in there!

    Boy, that really puts things into perpective, doesn’t it? I had an employee confide something to me yesterday that makes my problems look like child’s play. Things could always be worse! One day at a time, right?

  3. 3 Anthony North August 17, 2007 at 3:55 am

    Hi OB,
    Two of my sons drive. One drives like a maniac and has never had an accident. The other is a safer driver – I think – but has had at least three cars totalled.
    I guess the moral of the story is: if it’s gonna happen it’s gonna happen – and always when you least expect it.
    When that is understood as a fact of life, it helps to get through it and take it on the chin.

    Absolutely Anthony! When it all comes down to it, sometimes you just don’t have much control over circumstances – only the way you approach them. The kids are certainly feeling like life’s kicking their asses right now – but nobody was hurt and everyone still has a roof over their heads, enough to eat, and a large suppport system of people who love them.

  4. 4 Simonne August 17, 2007 at 5:51 am

    Oh this made me feel a tad guilty about a car accident I had when I was about 20 and my Mum ended up paying for everything!
    Deep breaths OB!
    xxx

    Sx: Don’t feel guilty! Mommy (me) paid for the 1st accident because we didn’t turn it in to insurance. I made it clear it’s my one and only “freebie!”

  5. 5 poseidonsmuse August 17, 2007 at 8:14 am

    Sorry to hear about that OB. Keep your chin up and head high. Your luck WILL change. By the way…your Friday Funk Party sounds like it will/should help to release some of that angst. Shake those hips mama…let that energy flow. I’m glad the kids were alright. Phew!

    I got some delicious good news today so things are looking up!!!! More later!

  6. 6 prisonmike August 17, 2007 at 11:04 am

    Bring on the funk! The best cure (that can be accomplished in an office anyway) for what ails you. I recommend James Brown, The Meters, and selected early Stevie Wonder for starters. Take two of each and call the Funky Doctor in the morning.
    I feel for you, sister friend. I had a dream last night and you were prominent in it. No…..it wasn’t that kind of dream. I only have that kind of dream about myself these days. You lived on a farm and were constantly walking up and down this pathway, back and forth. I finally stopped you and asked what you were seeking. You replied “Someone that can fill every hole in my soul.” Of course after that, I woke up and don’t know if you found that person or if such a person even exists. I thought the quote was cool though. It sounds like a line in a song.
    I know life is kinda kicking you right now and that you probably don’t want to hear it, but it could be worse. I heard the other day on the radio of a guy that lived on a farm and had a car for sale, sitting by the road. He and his wife were gone for the day and his 15 year old daughter swiped the keys to the car and picked up three friends and joyrode around until they hit a tree. Now daughter has injuries and so do all three friends. One friend has a broken back. Of course, no insurance on the car b/c it was for sale and not licensed. Homeowner’s doesn’t cover it, either. He could stand to lose his farm over the whole thing.
    Breathe. Find your center. Realign your chakras.
    Have a better weekend. I mean it.

    Wow bro, what a dream! I’ve been reading about walking meditation which can be accomplished by walking a path back and forth. I think Ken’s filled up almost every hole in my soul, but there’s still the occasional longing for something I can’t put my finger on. But hell, that probably describes every person on the planet! I think you must have dreamed your dream because I talked to Andi the other night about my recent Buddhism readings and how much perspective I’ve gained from them.

    Yeah buddy, James Brown, early Stevie, all the great funk hitters including Funkadelics (gotta have me some Funkadelic). We’re groovin’ here as I speak…One Nation Under a Groove (nothing can stop us now..)

  7. 7 anandamide August 17, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    sounds like the kids are mostly blameless (supporting the fluke theory), although I’m with you on the cell phone thing. makes me crazy when I’m on the highway stuck behind someone doing 20 below the limit, only to finally pass them and they’re chatting away on the cell….

    …funny to think these things used to be called “car phones” when now that’s their major downfall.

    I had one of those car phones in a bag in 1995 – they had to be in a bag because the battery and stuff was sooo big. I thought I was hot shit. What’s really starting to piss me off is the texting while driving. If I ever catch my kid doing something as stupid as that…

  8. 8 pradapixie August 17, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    Over here the use of cells is illegal whilst driving. The wearing of sit belts is compulsory. it did feel scary for those things to happen last week, when I was a passenger in various cars.
    Hope everyone is OK and can get back on the horse, so to speak.
    px

    Ah, things are starting to straighten up already – GF now has a rental car to use for school so that’s one thing checked off the list. Seat belts are also supposed to be compulsory here, but so many people choose not to use them (do they really call them sit belts in the UK? I love learning new language things like that). My parents were involved in a very nasty head on collision several years ago and would not be with us today if not for the seat belts. It’s just something we all do without thinking in my family.

  9. 9 RubyShooZ August 17, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    The thing that stands out in my mind is that the kids are alive. I’m giving thanks for that. I know many of my son’s friends are dead today – well, three that I can think of offhand. Driving accidents.

    We give thanks and life goes on.

    Peace, love and understanding.

    Ruby! I missed responding to this comment yesterday! My son’s old HS class recently lost 2 people in a train/car wreck this summer. Terrible tragedy – they apparently didn’t see a train was coming, although the lights were flashing (no barriers, though). There have been other deaths too. My son recently said “It seems like everyone from our class is getting killed in car wrecks.” Not true, although it seems like it to him. Scary world out there, isn’t it?

  10. 10 Bella August 18, 2007 at 4:44 am

    Jeez! I am sorry to hear about that run of bad luck. You are right, it comes in 3’s and in waves. It happens to everyone and I’m sure you are just happy at the end of this story that the kids are ok! That everyone involved was ok. On a brighter note, have a fabulous weekend!

    Am having a day of serenity here, Bella, after my morning errand runs, which has inspired my next post…

  11. 11 abarclay12 August 18, 2007 at 11:48 am

    “The moms hug. The drivers hug (the other driver was a 19 year old girl also), moms hug the drivers. Tears are dried and backs are rubbed.” – You

    I love how everyone hugs right in the intersection like this. Hilarious.

    You’re finished dealing with car accidents. Survey says for sure on this one.

    Yes, I feel the end of the Era of Wrecks has come and not a moment too soon for the moms!

  12. 12 pradapixie August 18, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    ooops blame the jet lag they are seat belts. But cells are called mobile phones. And fags are slank for cigerattes.I know all the differences now, so if you want any more let me know cause I’m bilingual nowdays!!
    px

    I think I know most of the language differences, but once in awhile I learn something new (I like to up on these things!) Hope you enjoyed your trip to the US, dear!

  13. 13 RubyShooZ August 18, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    …well, okay then. Sorry.

  14. 14 RubyShooZ August 19, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    (((((OS)))))))

    Roobs, I’m an acronym idiot! What does OS mean? Oh shit? Oh silly? I really need to get on top of this stuff…

  15. 15 joebec August 20, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    you know, i used to believe that only deaths happened in threes but now i have heard of three car accidents in one week, (or 5 if i count your separately which i won’t because the OCD likes it better this way). so maybe i’ve been wrong all along. although i do know that deaths happen in threes. i also know that if you count the cars in a funeral procession it’s bad luck (which REALLY REALLY fucks with my OCD)…i have to look away and count to 15 so my count will be off. crazy huh? anyways, i’m just rambling…

    Love an OCD with a sense of humor! I thank the baby Jesus every day I didn’t get the counting part (but don’t fuck with my ritual completion…)

  16. 16 Paul Baylay August 20, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    Your son doesn’t get a chauffeur??? Wow…

    Nope – and I’m holding firm on that one!

  17. 17 writerchick August 20, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    Oh no! I just don’t even know what to say. What are the chances?

    Many years ago, I had that curse too. I had a car totaled on the freeway. Then the old clunker I bought for $500 bucks was rear ended by a kid on drugs, whilst I was on my way to make the final payment for the first totaled car and then to round it off, three months later, a dude on coke totaled the junker which he didn’t seem to see since he rear ended me three times and finally forced me through a red light.

    The good news, we won the lawsuit. The bad news my back was screwed up for years.

    Any wonder that I’m not crazy about driving.

    Man, that WAS a bad streak, eh? Sounds like you had cars that freakishly attracted the druggies. My son’s GF suffered a concussion from the last wreck and is also currently having all kinds of pain problems involving her back and neck and knee. I’m hoping she doesn’t end up with a chronic problem like you did – are you still suffering from back problems?

    Fingers crossed.

    WC


Leave a Reply

