Go Speed Racer, Go!

Don’t hate me because I’m THE BEST GIRLFRIEND EVER!  Last Christmas I gave Ken every man’s dream – 33.jpga gift certificate to drive a race car – and last Saturday he cashed in, baby. Allow me to reiterate that he DROVE the car himself; no pansy ride-along here. So on Saturday at 6:30am, we loaded up the camera and headed out to the Kansas Speedway to fulfill one of my man’s lifelong dreams. After 45 minutes of classroom instruction, several hyped-up men and one woman donned fire suits and climbed into their stock cars with their instructors, ready to go as fast as they possibly could around the 1.5 mile track – 10 times.

It doesn’t take long to drive 15 miles when you’re driving in excess of 100 miles per hour. car.jpg Ken’s highest speed was 161mph which was pretty fast, but I think he would have gone another 10 laps if he’d had the chance.  The look of pure exhilaration on his face when he climbed out of the #33 car was priceless, and he remembered to thank his sponsor (me) when he was done, which is what all the hotshot professional drivers do. 

 The next day was Ken’s birthday, so it was an extra special weekend for him.  Now it’s almost time to figure out this year’s Christmas present…

16 Responses to “Go Speed Racer, Go!”


  1. 1 Charlie August 27, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    That would suck. I would hate if my wife did that for me….NOT!

    Yes, I think driving a car as fast as one possibly can is a major dude fantasy (and one for some of us women too! Right, Muse?)

  2. 2 poseidonsmuse August 27, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    WOWWWWWWWWWWW!!!! You are the BEST GIRLFRIEND EVER!!!! And good on you for that. My husband would be completely thrilled with me if I sent him on a race-car driving experience (the only condition would be that I would ensure that I got to drive one of these cars too!). I always wanted to drive a dragster…You are one incredible lady OB…[high five!]. Boo-yah!

    I wanted to be the woman who was part of the driving group. She was a bit slower than the guys, but still…I really admired her for suiting up and taking the wheel. That took a lot of guts.

  3. 3 V- August 27, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    I would have loved to have seen Ken’s face! That’s so awesome. He’s a very lucky guy to have snagged such a fabulous woman!!

    Aw shucks! His facial expression was priceless – like a kid who just got told he was going to Disneyland – only better.

  4. 4 RubyShooZ August 28, 2007 at 1:23 am

    What a sweetie you are – I’m not telling my husband about it though. You really are one special lady you. I put up a recipe for you last Thursday but you’ve been missing in action but now I see what sorta action you’ve been up to and I’m so happy for you!!

    I am going to have to look in pricing something like that though. It musta cost an arm and a leg!

    Big hugs to a good girlfriend. 🙂

    Peace, love and vrooooooom!!

    Dang it, I DID miss last Thursday’s recipe! Must go back and check. The price of the drive isn’t as much as you’d think, although there was a guy there who was doing 80 laps at a cost of about $3500.00. That’s a little too much girlfriend for me!

  5. 5 anonymum August 28, 2007 at 1:55 am

    the best damned present i ever heard of! my god, mark would kill to do something like that! might look into it for him…

    Oh you should. The sex you’ll get is great!

  6. 6 Graffiti August 28, 2007 at 3:41 am

    yes that does sound like a good present indeed!!.

    Graffiti

    Thanks Graffiti!

  7. 7 AnthonyNorth August 28, 2007 at 3:58 am

    Hi OB,
    That’s a great present, but you are now worried how to top it at Christmas. After a ride like that, only one thing – but how to get hold of the sleigh ..
    Yo, ho, ho!

    Oh, I got a good chuckle out of that one, Anthony! It’s back to the usual stuff from me this year though!

  8. 8 Deb August 28, 2007 at 5:33 am

    That sounds like a lot of fun, and it was awesome of you to get that for him! And of course it reminds me of one of my favorite techno songs. I’ll email it to you when I get home – I think you will get a kick out of it (even if techno isn’t something you’d normally like).

    Of course you have set yourself up to never be able to top a gift like that! Doh! Then again, you love the guy, and what better gift could anyone ask for? 😉

    Yes, I love this man. It was his lifelong dream to drive a race car and I wanted to help him do that. New music – you know what I like!

  9. 9 Simonne August 28, 2007 at 8:08 am

    Oh, you’re cool! That’s a hot present! Good luck at Christmas time!!
    xx

    He was so excited! Made me glad I did it.

  10. 10 Dan August 28, 2007 at 8:12 am

    Wow – I’m not even a racing fan, but that sounds astounding.

    I think most guys have the fantasy of wanting to drive really fast. It was almost as fun to watch!

  11. 11 prisonmike August 28, 2007 at 10:34 am

    Good for you Brother Ken! I’d love a chance to do that meself. Sounds like your SO got some fringes from it too! Good for you both! Life is good!
    PM mentioned she’d always wanted to drive a dragster. I’ve done that and it’s a trip too, but I’m sure much different than a NASCAR experience. It’s like sex – an absolute visceral rush for 8 seconds, then it’s over.
    When I was much younger, I spent a good part of my leisure time at our local drag strip. Two friends and I fielded a race car for a season, spent a ton of one member’s father’s money, and had much fun. I, of course wrenched. It was a B/Altered 1955 Chevrolet with a 427 fuel injected motor.
    So anyway, I helped another friend who had a gas dragster on his car in my off time. In return for my assistance, he offered a ride in payment. He had no extra money, no one did. All that went into the car.
    You don this firesuit – pants and jacket and mask. This mask fits over your face and has two filters you breate through and two little rectangular holes for your eyes. Then you pop the helmet on then goggles. Then you realize you’re hotter than hell and you start to sweat and sweat. You climb over the side of the slicks in the back, lower yourself into the thinly padded aluminum seat, buckle in, and wait. And sweat.
    Long story short – or is it too late for that? The motor’s fired up, you do a burnout to heat the tires, they push you back behind the starting line, you inch up until two little yellow bulbs are illuminated on the christmas tree, and when the green comes on, you “stomp and steer”. 8 seconds later, you’ve traveled a quarter mile. You pull this ring next to your head which releases the parachute. It opens at 180 MPH and you’re slammed forward in the straps. Turn off the mag switch, coast and grab the handbrake. Turn off the strip, coast to a stop, unbuckle, get out, take off all that firesuit crap you put on because now you’re sweatin like a bitch, sit on the tire and wait for the the team truck to come get you.
    Too much information? My specialty madam.
    I’m running on too little sleep and a little punch b/c I woke up at 4:30 this morning to see the blood red moon.

    You are a man of many surprises Mikie! I didn’t know you were drag racing while the rest of us were smoking dope out in the woods. Sumbitch! You should talk to dad about that sometime. He used to drag race out on old 71 Hwy back in the 50’s – at least that’s the story he told us! I saw a faint glimpse of the eclipse at 6:15am. Was it really red at 4:30?

  12. 12 prisonmike August 28, 2007 at 11:00 am

    As red as the dog’s ass after a Foghorn Leghorn paddling, yes ma’am.

  13. 13 Cookie munzter August 28, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    ok you won, you are indeed the best girlfriend ever!!!

    Yippee! I win, I win!

  14. 14 Red August 28, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    Ohhh! That is soooo coooool .. I wanna do it.. My birthday is coming up! *hint hint!*

    And you deserve it, Red. Just floor it and keep turning left, girl!

  15. 15 Bella August 28, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    Nice. Do you like Nascar too? I actually have learned to love it (doesn’t hurt looking at Kasey Kahne either, know what i’m say’n?). For the longest time, I was anti-Nascar, then it was like, “Well, if ‘ya can’t beat ‘um, join ‘um”. I learned there was much more to the sport than riding in a circle. BAHAHAH, no seriously, it’s awesome. KASEY KAHNE ROCKS MY WORLD. Sorry.

    Kasey’s my babe! I used to be a Jimmy Johnson gal, but Kasey….uh you can’t beat that cute little baby face. Jimmy’s still my driver though. I don’t really watch NASCAR much, just the last 50 laps or so, but Ken got me into this fantasy racing league and I led the team in points for about 6 weeks! Me! The girl! You’re right, if you can’t beat ’em, might as well join ’em. Practically the entire male section of my family loves NASCAR. My dad used to race 1/4 mile track a long time ago and we’ve been schooled in cars our entire lives. Wow Bella, I never met another woman (who I actually liked) who will admit to watching NASCAR. You just made my day!

  16. 16 joebec August 29, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    Being the NASCAR junkie that I am, that is totally the best gift ever!! i agree, you are the best girlfriend ever!!

    And the NASCAR girls are coming out of the closet! Kasey Kahne, watch out!


Leave a Reply

