Music video Thursday: In These Shoes? Kirsty MacColl

Have fun ladies! 

I once met a man with a sense of adventure
He was dressed to thrill wherever he went
He said “Let’s make love on a mountain top
Under the stars on a big hard rock”
I said “In these shoes?
I don’t think so”
I said “Honey, let’s do it here.”

So I’m sitting at a bar in Guadalajara
In walks a guy with a faraway look in his eyes
He said “I’ve got as powerful horse outside
Climb on the back, I’ll take you for a ride
I know a little place, we can get there for the break of day.”
I said “In these shoes?
No way, Jose”
I said “Honey, let’s stay right here.”

No le gusta caminar. No puede montar a caballo
(She doesn’t like to walk, she can’t ride a horse)
Como se puede bailar? Es un escandolo
(But the way she dances, it’s a scandal)

Then I met an Englishman
“Oh” he said
“Won’t you walk up and down my spine,
It makes me feel strangely alive.”
I said “In these shoes?
I doubt you’d survive.”
I said “Honey, let’s do it.
Let’s stay right here.”

No le gusta caminar. No puede montar a caballo
(She doesn’t like to walk, she can’t ride a horse)
Como se puede bailar? Es un escandolo
(But the way she dances, it’s a scandal)

 (Sadly, Kirsty MacColl was killed in a scuba diving accident the year she filmed this live performance in 2000.  The details surrounding her death continue to be a source of controversy)

14 Responses to “Music video Thursday: In These Shoes? Kirsty MacColl”


  1. 1 Deb September 13, 2007 at 5:18 am

    Great song! Sad to hear about her death, though. Makes it sort of spooky to watch the video.

    I love this song, always have. Yeah, it’s spooky. She died scuba diving in Mexico when she was hit by a boat.

  2. 2 Simonne September 13, 2007 at 5:29 am

    That is a cool song 🙂
    (Hi OB, sorry about my hiatus, missed ya! xx)

    I missed you too! So glad to see you on the comments Simonne. I know you’ve been busy with the impending wedding, but we miss you all the same – hope it’s going smoothly. You know we’re all crashing the wedding, right? Heehee, I wish we could…

  3. 3 AnthonyNorth September 13, 2007 at 9:08 am

    Kirsty was often so laid back. She was a session man’s singer. Superb. And her death was a shock.

    She had such a strong voice, and she came from good musical stock, too.

  4. 4 Grace September 13, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    ((((( OB )))))) Just stopped in to say, “HELLO, HONEY!!!” I can’t watch the video right now but I had a few minutes free here at work, and I wanted to send a shout out to you!! XOXOXOX

    Hey Grace – your message went to spam so consider yourself rescued. This seems to be a bad WordPress problem right now. Anyway – hey you! We miss you out here in the group. So good to hear from you (I’ll keep checking that spam folder – one of the bloggers had his entire blog declared spam and he couldn’t even post to his own site for awhile! Stupid Akismet).

  5. 5 poseidonsmuse September 13, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Askimet is rather ridiculous! I have also been relegated to the junk bin from time to time too! Say OB, I don’t know much about Kirsty MaColl, but her music sounds rather jazzy and fun. Not too sure about walking or getting stepped on by and Englishman (although stranger things have happened!)…Unless of course, he had a fetish for high heels and enjoyed looking like a piece of swiss cheese…Lol! Thanks for the vid girlie! xoxo

    I like the playfulness of that song (in THESE shoes? I don’t think so!). I’m really not a huge fan of her other stuff so much, but she is quite talented.

  6. 6 poseidonsmuse September 13, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    “an” Englishman…back only one day and I can’t bloody well spell…jeesh…

  7. 7 Doktor Holocaust September 14, 2007 at 4:46 am

    delightful song. reminds me of those long hours spent sitting on a bench outside a shoestore whilst some then-significant other hunted for the right pair of shoes. Not, mind you, shoes that one could actually walk anywhere or do anything in, but ones that pleased her to look at when placed upon her feet.

    of course, I shoe-shop a little differently. I enter a store and say “I need to see the biggest, stompiest, storm-troopiest boots you have in a size thirteen, please.” if what they have fails to satisfy, I go to the next store and try again. Of course, I never try more than two stores a week, so it can take a month or so to find boots I like, but then I wear those boots everywhere until they fall apart, and the game begins anew.

    Yes, women’s brains tend to focus on visual appeal more than function at times. Not that that’s a bad thing. But I DO like the stormtrooper boots, just not on MY feet. I don’t think so.

  8. 8 Doktor Holocaust September 14, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    aww, come on. deep down, you know you want your own jackboots for kicking people to the curb. Give in to that urge… the dark side is strong with you!

    I used to get mine from the military uniform shop, but then I moved away from my parents and therefore lost my right to go on a military base (Pa Holocaust is air force, y’see), so now I must settle for whatever pathetic civilian footwear comes closest to my steel-toed mesh-and-leather with sweat-wicking lining and vents to keep your feet cool ideal.

    it doesn’t help that i have big mutant sasquatch-feets.

    If I were still a young hipster I would be so wearing the jackboots! And a trenchcoat.

  9. 9 Grace September 14, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    ((( OB ))) I’m back in blogland…..

  10. 10 RubyShooZ September 14, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    I didn’t watch the video either since I try to avoid them if I can but –

    I’m a large admirer of shooz if you hadn’t noticed but there are times when the shoes gotta come off and at those times, I’m more than willing.

    Peace love.

    ~ RS ~

    Shooz! Good to see you here at the old hangout! It’s a fun song – one of my all-time faves. Missing you, Roobs.

  11. 11 Doktor Holocaust September 15, 2007 at 6:22 am

    see, that’s the problem with the kids these days: not enough adults in jackboots around to make them properly afraid. A little totalitarian fascism and they may just be able to make something of themselves.

    I would get on that, but when i was one of the “Kids these days,” my generation’s problem was that we were all wisecracking slackers, and i never quite outgrew it.

    Good point, Doktor. I may be rethinking the ‘too old for jackboots’ policy.

  12. 12 Arm Jerker J. September 15, 2007 at 7:39 am

    I didn’t know WHO sang that song. I’ve always just heard it from drag queen’s performances. They LOVE doing this song. I’ve heard it someplace else too…Was it The Birdcage? Now I have to watch my DVD again to be sure.

    Nice post. Different from the normal YouTube stuff you see around WordPress.

    Nah, it wasn’t in the Birdcage, but I think it was in Kinky Boots. Love the drag queens, baby!

  13. 13 Grace September 15, 2007 at 11:24 am

    LOL Well now, ending up in the Spam Can is a new experience! 🙂 THANKS for rescuing me….

    I’ve started blogging again 🙂 just yesterday….
    http://thewildpomegranate.wordpress.com. I’m ready to start again..xoxoxox

  14. 14 Simonne September 19, 2007 at 2:39 am

    OMG, would be so much fun if you guys did crash the wedding! Why do I have to live so far away from you all?! You’ll just have to be happy with photos! xx

    I know, wouldn’t it be fun? We’ll be with you in all our goddess spirit though, cutie!


Leave a Reply

