All About Me(me)

Prada Pixie has bucked the establishment and made up her own meme and I say Good for her!  It’s a great one, so of course I stole it because I’m lazy and I think I’m coming down with the cold Ken had this weekend and I just spent $200 on my dog’s shots and allergy shot and heartworm pills and, shit – it’s Monday.

  1. What is your all time favourite book, from childhood, as an adult?  Little House on the Prairie/Pillars of the Earth.  I’ve read each numerous times and I even live close to a town that has a Laura Ingalls Wilder day once a year.  They don’t, however have an Observant Bystander day.  Yet.
  2. All time favourite movie as above?  The Wizard of Oz/The Philadelphia Story.  Again, numerous viewings and yes, I’ve done the WOZ/Dark Side of the Moon thing which totally rocks by the way.  A little known fact is that you can do the same thing with The Philadelphia Story and Frank Sinatra’s In the Wee Small Hours album. 
  3. Favourite type of chocolate, and how much of it do you eat a week?  I only eat Nestle’s chocolate chunks because, well, nothing says big hunk o’ chocolate like chocolate chunks. 
  4. Favourite drink, non alcoholic and alcoholic?  Iced tea with lemon.  Amaretto sour.  No joking around with the liquor, no sir.   
  5. Where is your all time best holiday destination?  For Halloween, I like to go a few blocks over to this big house that looks like a castle and has a blue tile roof (I shit you not, people), because they change the doorbell chime to sound all scary and stuff AND they give out full size Hershey bars. 
  6. Where is your dream holiday destination?  Oh shit, I just realized this was written by a Brit.  Which means I’m supposed to be answering these holiday questiont by substituting the word vacation.  Well, I’m not changing the answer to #5 because it’s truly the best Halloween destination.  As far as dream vacations go – I’d have to vote for a tour of famous cemetaries.   I tried to talk my dad into visiting Jim Morrison’s gravesite in Paris, but even after I explained who Jim Morrison was, he still wasn’t interested.  Oh, and Italy.  Yeah, I’d really like to go to Italy.
  7. Which is the best Beatles track of all time?  I Want You/She’s So Heavy from Abbey Road.  Nuff said.
  8. What are you most proud of having achieved (having children doesn’t count)  Making it out of my twenties alive. 
  9. What would you want for your last supper ever?(assuming it’s food you like now and not liquidized mush when you are 90!)  Cheeseburger, really salty fries, chocolate milkshake.
  10. How old were you when you had your first snog, name of snoggee if you dare?   Haha!  I know what snog means!   OK – 16 and no, I won’t say (cause a lady does NOT kiss and tell – did you hear that Monica Lewinsky???).  He had the bluest eyes I’ve ever seen in my life though.
  11. Do you have an unfulfilled ambition?  Yes!
  12. If so what is it?  Well, besides being a World Famous Blogger, I want to learn how to take pictures well.
  13. What yer gonna do about achieving it?  I’m shopping for a camera as we speak (thanks, Deb!)
  14. Describe the outfit that best describes you as you are.  Soft, wornout bellbottom jeans, gauzy shirt, chunky shoes.  The hippie girl never died.
  15. If you were on Desert Island Discs which one piece of music would you want to keep?  Wow I had to Wiki this one!  ONE PIECE OF MUSIC?  OK, but tomorrow I might now feel the same way – Hold on Hold on by Neko Case.  The words are perfect to me. 
  16.  And what would the luxury item be, as in no use at all, on a desert island?   An art deco still life painting I have.
  17.  Outside of your partner, Brad Pitt, George Clooney, Beyonce Knowles, J-lo who do you fantasise about?  You mean I can’t choose George Clooney??   Billy Bob Thornton cause he’s sooooo nasty.
  18. Describe the contents of your purse/wallet, ie receipts/ bus tickets/ plastic you never use/ and if your lucky enough money.(English use of the word purse here)  Gum wrappers, lots of gum wrappers, hair ties and headbands, lotion, big fat red wallet, cell phone (somewhere in the bottom of the purse where I can never find it to answer it), cigarettes (always where I can find them), sunglasses, medications (old women have to carry their medications with them ya know), and various types of paperwork (currently camera research).
  19. Outside of the family what item would you save from the inferno?  Just to be clear here, my dog IS my family so he’s going regardless.  Other than that, my purse. 
  20. How much would you like me to stop now.?  But I LIKE talking about myself…
20 Responses to “All About Me(me)”


  1. 1 V- September 18, 2007 at 7:56 am

    That was wonderful! I hope you don’t mind but I copied it to my blog too. Billy Bob Thorton? 🙂

    Billy Bob is yummy. Mmmmm.

  2. 2 poseidonsmuse September 18, 2007 at 10:45 am

    Ok OB…Pixie started a meme craze (and so did you, I might add!) with this one…What a bloody brilliant meme! [snatch that one up…yet again]. Anyway, I like it when you talk about “you” – Darn! You are one interesting chick! BB Thornton? You know…he does have a certain somethin’-somethin’, yes? [V sounds a little surprised!]. Uhm, everything else is pretty much how I pictured you – “Cool, eclectic, sassy and timeless…”

    This works for you Babe…Never, ever change. I love my OB.

    ps. We need to get working on Global Observant Bystander Day…We can hand out colourful “peeps” and wear funky hippie clothing and dance in the streets until the sunsets…

    Oh you are too sweet Muse! We should have a day for all the old hippie chicks still alive and kicking!

  3. 3 motherwintermoon September 18, 2007 at 11:51 am

    I enjoyed reading every revelatory word! 😀 Quite a ride. Now, because I’m lazy and because it’s Tuesday, I’m going to address a topic from your previous post in this comment. I was cruising through WP’s Top Blog list and lo and behold, I happened upon this …http://kateharding.net – Kate Harding’s Shapely Prose. Looks to me like a kick-butt blog! Another one for the Hood. Check it out cybersisters.

    Interesting post there today also. I admire that kind of honesty in a person!

  4. 4 pradapixie September 18, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    Brill, absolutely brill, even if you have no idea what a purse is!!
    wallet= purse
    purse=handbag
    pants=trousers
    cell=mobile
    fries=chips
    chips =crisps
    Clear now!
    Really pleased others are going to do it to. I’ll have to check them out. And one day it go round the world and get back to me for me to answer!
    pxx

    Crap! And you even EXPLAINED that in the question! Doh! I was just thinking today that this meme was gonna sweep the blogosphere…it’s bound to come back around to you, Pix.

  5. 5 Red September 18, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    Mmhmm! BillyBob makes me wet.

    We loves them bad boys, don’t we??

  6. 6 joebec September 18, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    well, aside from being a true all american whore, i’m also something of a theif so i’ll be taking this soon. loved your answers! i love finding out new stuff about my girlies!

    It’s one of the best memes I’ve ever seen. First class work, Pix!

  7. 7 Deb September 18, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    I visited Jimmy when I was in paris. Some people were really intense about it, but I believe I still have pictures!

    Great meme!

    Ooooh, loverly. You should post one (or more) on your site!

  8. 8 Doktor Holocaust September 18, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    I claim this meme in the name of Holocaust Labs, where it shall be filled out posthaste and plastered up for nigh and sundry to wet themselves in fear over.

    Zippety do dah, Doktor!

  9. 9 observantbystander September 18, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    How retarded is it that I’m commenting on my own blog??? I DO NOT KNOW WHAT SNOG MEANS! I mean, I thought it meant the horizontal mambo but that’s SHAG! Snog, as in kiss – OK. I was twelve and we were in love, dammit!!! 16, sheesh. You guys probably think I’m a total loser!! So now you know when I lost my virginity. Somebody please give me a translation book if I ever get the chance to fly across the pond.

  10. 10 RubyShooZ September 18, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    OB,

    Piller of the sky??? By Cecelia Holland? I think that might be my favorite book too. I have mentioned it to many many folks but no one has ever read it or even heard of it – except my mom when she was bedridden and dying of cancer.

    I love that book!

    Peace and good books.

    ~ RS ~

    No, it’s Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. But it’s not a typical Follett book. This one takes place in the 12th centry and is about a stone mason whose greatest ambition in life is to work on a cathedral. I’ve reread it several times. After checking out Pillar of the Sky, it’s very interesting that the stories are so similar. I will put this on my list – thanks Ruby!

  11. 11 Doktor Holocaust September 18, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    oh, I do agree with Poisondmuse that BB Thornton is an interesting choice. he does tend to play the vastly-entertaining-asshole type in movies, he was great in School for Scoundrels. I took notes. they got me nowhere, but i have them.

    He has a very wide acting range – check out Chrystal sometime. Or Monster’s Ball. And of course the always fascinating Slingblade.

  12. 12 Red September 18, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    I stealed it . . I stealed it.

    Yippee! I’m going to message Pixie and tell her her meme’s a success!

  13. 13 Doktor Holocaust September 19, 2007 at 7:01 am

    I adore sling blade, and he IS good, as he did something so different from what I usually see him in that it didn’t spring to mind when I thought of BB Thornton movies.

    I have a certain affinity for a person who dislikes both antiques and midgets.

  14. 14 AnthonyNorth September 19, 2007 at 9:03 am

    Ambition to be a World Famous Blogger? I think you’re well on your way to that one. AND decisive – how does someone pick a FAVOURITE track from non-stop brilliance on Abbey Road?
    That’s the English (Brit) ‘favourite’, by the way.

    It used to be the Sun King/Because/Mr Mustard medley, but that She’s so Heavy track is just powerful. However, you’re so right about the entire album’s brillance. Those really were the good old days when you could actually listen to a record all the way through, both sides, and be amazed by every single track. There are so few recent recordings I can say that about now. World Famous? Moi? You’re too kind, Mr. North.

  15. 15 poseidonsmuse September 19, 2007 at 9:44 am

    Oh, and don’t forget “Pushing Tin” people…BB Thornton was extremely intense in this flick with Angelina Jolie and John Cusack (another gorgeous actor, by the way…I love the way he is maturing…another Brat Pack contemporary to Johnny Depp).

    I’ve never seen that one! Waking Up in Reno was pretty darn funny – adored Charlize Theron in that too. John Cusak is good – also his sister Joan, who was so funny in In&Out with Kevin Kline. Perhaps we need another movie discussion post!

  16. 16 abarclay12 September 19, 2007 at 11:24 am

    Great factoids. Your one about Halloween totally made me laugh, because when I was a kid, I LOVED the houses that gave out FULL-SIZE candy bars. That was kind of unheard of, and I felt lucky, like I’d gotten away with something. Anyhow, good post.

    In spite of the fact that I’m a fricking idiot regarding British vs American words! Full size candy bars – yippee! I’m a total slut for them.

  17. 17 romi41 September 20, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    I wanted to post this on my blog with all my answers, but I couldn’t bear to admit that I’ve never snogged before…sniff, sniff, I like boys, I really do, but why do they always run away, with these terrified looks on their faces?? Is it because they’re only 13, and I’m 26? I just wanna snog…sigh…

    Oh poor Canada girl! Your luciousness probably scares the little wee ones away!

  18. 18 Arm Jerker J. September 20, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    I was a HUGE fan of those James Howe books as a kid. He’s the author who wrote about the “vampire” bunny named Bunnicula. Does anyone remember that?! I still have all of them. I’m a nerd. A nerd with the heart of a 12 year old I guess.

    Vampire bunnies!! Never heard of ’em but they sound like something I’d totally get. Go nerds!


  1. 1 Meme-mania! « Ramblings From the Mermaid Tavern Trackback on September 24, 2007 at 1:28 pm
  2. 2 Muddersucking Meme « DrPepperIsGood4TheSoul Trackback on September 25, 2007 at 5:08 am

Leave a Reply

