Music Video Thursday: Neko Case – Hold On Hold On

One of the answers on my All About Me(me) was which song I would take to a desert island, and this is it.  I never get tired of listening to this CD, but this song in particular.  Enjoy!

The most tender place in my heart is for strangers
I know it’s unkind but my own blood is much too dangerous
Hangin’ round the ceiling half the time
Hangin’ round the ceiling half the time

Compared to some I’ve been around
But I really tried so hard
That echo chorus lied to me with its
“Hold on, hold on, hold on, hold on”

In the end I was the mean girl
Or somebody’s in-between girl
Now it’s the devil I love
And that’s as funny as real love

I leave the party at three a.m.
Alone, thank God
With a valium from the bride
It’s the devil I love
And that’s as funny as real love
And that’s as real as true love

That echo chorus lied to me with its
“Hold on, hold on, hold on, hold on”

That echo chorus lied to me with its
“Hold on, hold on, hold on, hold on”

5 Responses to “Music Video Thursday: Neko Case – Hold On Hold On”


  1. 1 V- September 19, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    That’s my absolute favortie Neko Case song too! I put it on every CD compilation I make, just so I get to hear it all the time. oxoxoxox

    Oh man, the lyrics are PERFECT. Doesn’t it seem like she wrote that song for us?

  2. 2 Deb September 19, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    Excellent!

    Glad you liked it Deb!

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust September 19, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    oooh, most nifty. reminds me muchly of one of my own fave bands from a while ago (can’t listen to them now, as the music reminds me of what was happening while it was playing, but it’s still good), Rykarda Parasol. the album and preceding EP used to get heavy play on my ipod as I drove around chainsmoking and ranting to the dashboard about everything that was wrong with my life at the time.

    Oh yeah, the voices are similar (re: register) – I’m liking what I hear on MySpace right now (Arrival a Rival). You know, there were lots of tunes that had to take a backseat for awhile for me at various times in my life (due to bad times or associations with bad people). Interestingly, if I really liked the music at one time, it eventually found its way back to my ears much later – when I could embrace it in a different way.

  4. 4 abarclay12 September 21, 2007 at 10:46 am

    Cool song. I’ve never heard it before, but I like it.

    I have a little crush on her…

  5. 5 poseidonsmuse September 21, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    “Hold On OB! Help is on it’s way!” [PM falls flat on her face…].

    Oops! Sorry Doll…I’m not much of a Superhero. Great song OB…Neko Rocks! xoxo

    Watch out Muse, that first step’s a doozy! Here, let me give you a hand.. there, that’s better. Now we can both enjoy Neko!


Leave a Reply

