A brief respite

The Observation Deck is going on medical leave for a few days.  The head cold that is making my nose feel like a bad case of poison ivy, is kicking my ass.  Couple that with the antihistamines and about all I’m capable of right now is curling up on the couch, sipping tea and watching The War on PBS. 

Those of you who’ve requested an interview have your questions.  The Doktor has already done a fabulous job and received a grade of 95% for his very fine efforts.  Make sure you check him out and give him shit for dissing Pan’s Labrynth.   (I see he’s already done a followup on that, by the way).  I’ll be checking back at The Nook, Jenn’s place, and WriterChick later in the week to take a gander at your efforts.  

In the meantime, here’s to soft, lotion infused Kleenex, a great PBS miniseries, and Tavist.

13 Responses to “A brief respite”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust September 24, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    as your Doktor, I advise you to go to some authorized-to-prescribe-pills doctor and get ye some Prednisone. tis a corticosteroid, fights inflammation, induces euphoria and fits of superhuman strength as well as an eating capacity to rival that of Homer Simpson himself. The only side effect, homicidal berserker warp-spasm, is also a benefit, so there are technically no side effects.

    Last time I had a head cold, it turned into bronchitis (it always does, as I might be infectious mutant waste), and I was prescribed prednisone, antibiotics, a steroid inhaler, and an adrenaline inhaler. took a couple weeks, but I could finally breathe normally again, and discovered that I had inadvertently quit smoking in the meantime.

    feel better soon.

  2. 2 Arm Jerker J. September 24, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Ah. Take it easy. Feel well soon. The good part of being sick is getting all dopey on the meds and having an excuse to veg out on the couch. Wait, I feel a cold coming on myself!

    Take care of yourself. We will enjoy your stuff when you get back, (and while you’re gone) meme addict.

    j.

  3. 3 RubyShooZ September 24, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    Take good care of our baby. You are loved. Enjoy the War – I’ve been watching it too since I’m not up to much more than that. Love and chicken soup. ~ RS ~

  4. 4 V- September 24, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    There been something going around. Everyone I know has been battleing it. The weather is supposed to cool off tomorrow. Perfect for cuddling up with a blanket on the couch and eating some soup. Feel better soon!!!

  5. 5 david September 25, 2007 at 11:19 am

    Hope you feel better soon. And The War is rather great.

  6. 6 Red September 25, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Aww .. poor poor honey. Hope you get to feeling better soon.
    And keep your germs away from me, please :]

  7. 7 anonymum September 25, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    oh possum! you’re not well? lots of hot tea, warm soup, and if all else fails get really really pissed on red wine and you’ll forget about it anyway!
    always works for me 😆

  8. 8 Deb September 25, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    Feel better soon! I like anonymum’s red wine idea.

  9. 9 Grace September 25, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Sending you lots of warm fuzzies filled with mama’s chicken soup and tea with honey.

  10. 10 writerchick September 25, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    Hey Karen,
    Feel better. I highly recommend tea with honey and a nice portion of cognac. It doesn’t cure anything but makes you feel good anyway. 😉
    Take care.
    Annie

  11. 11 poseidonsmuse September 26, 2007 at 11:45 am

    Get well Girlie…I miss you…xoxo

  12. 12 joebec September 26, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    hope you feel better soon hunny! a half shot of Jack Daniels mixed with honey and warmed up will have the same effect as Nyquil. good stuff!

  13. 13 Bella September 28, 2007 at 1:24 am

    I missed this somehow, sorry you weren’t feeling good. I’m glad you are better. As always, a day late and a dollar short 😦

    🙂 Bella


Leave a Reply

