Moondance

My cold is on the wane and I feel almost myself again. Thanks, everyone, for your very sweet well-wishes – they were much appreciated!   Anyone who says the friends we make online aren’t real just don’t know what they’re talking about.  Poor things….    The War has been fascinating and since D-Day is tonight, today’s post will be short. But I was so inspired by our very full moon this morning, I felt an overwhelming need to write this post for him:

www.davearcher.com/FullMoon.jpg

Good morning”, the moon said today. His full, round face was a soft, welcoming lemony color.   “Would you like to dance?” he asked.

“But I’m late for work”, I explained, starting the car – preoccupied with adjusting radio and temperature dials, situating my bags and coffee cup.

“It’s alright.” he said, “We’ll dance while you drive.”

And we did. We faced each other and danced a graceful minuet during my short drive west. My hands on the wheel, as if on his shoulders, I swayed right as he swayed left. We came back again to center and repeated our step with the opposite side.   As my car dipped down a hill, my full-faced partner dipped with me until we briefly lost sight of each other, then met again on the ascent, his position slightly lower in the sky than just a little while before.

For a few short minutes we danced gracefully and beautifully until I reached my day’s destination.

Puttting the car into park and cutting the lights, I looked up to thank my partner.   His face, relfecting the not yet risen sun, had reddened slightly.  “Oh, mon amoureux de lune!” I exclaimed.

He was blushing.

15 Responses to “Moondance”


  1. 1 Grace September 26, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I LOVE this, OB!!! (AND I’m so glad you’re on the mend…I agree so much about friends on line. They make the world a much warmer, loving place!)

    Back when my commute pointed me in that direction, the nights when the Moon would be coming up on my way home were some of the best. You’ve captured the essence of that so beautifully…only on the morning side!

    XOXOX

    I thought you’d like this, Grace, you moon-lover! I adore the moon, especially when it’s full (like the pomegranate) and glowing. It feels like a friend.

  2. 2 V- September 26, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    I’m so glad you’re feeling better. That was a beautiful tribute to the moon. I too was up early this morning and was stopped in my tracks by the moons beauty. I walked over the window and stood there for moments in the dark completely entranced. I’d forgotten all about it until you posted. Thanks!

    I do feel so much better, V. Thanks – the bug ran through the house and then attacked my mother so we’ve all been rather puny. I was surprised by the moon this morning – pleasantly so! Glad we shared it together, dear.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust September 26, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    The moon, according to some scholars, is the meteor-strike-pockmarked skull of a giant space monster.

    Should I send you a Holocaust Labs Necrophile Club welcome kit?

    Oh, you are too funny, Dok! I’m afraid to ask what the welcome kit contains – but a commemorative tshirt sounds pretty cool.

  4. 4 Doktor Holocaust September 26, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    actually, we don’t have a Welcome Kit yet, as i haven’t encountered any other necrophiliac bloggers. I imagine i’ll have to put one together now

    Well, for the record, I never said I was pro-necrophilia, Doktor Lector! You’re on your own there, you crazy zombie lover, you..

  5. 5 Deb September 26, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    Glad you’re feeling better! I love the idea of a blushing moon.

    Me too! He was very handsome, that moon.

  6. 6 Spyder September 26, 2007 at 10:23 pm

    Beautiful you lunatic!

    Thanks, girl! Are we going to meet again soon?

  7. 7 RubyShooZ September 27, 2007 at 12:55 am

    Welcome home love. Glad to have you back and what a wonderful post! I’m a moonchild so we’re pretty well connected me and the moon. I was up enjoying the beautiful moon as well and wow, it really was beautiful – like your post. One of my nicknames besides MoonChild, MoonSage, Bluemoonz, Twobluemoons….(hahaha) was LaLune.

    Anyway, I have been checking in on ya and look forward to seeing you around again. You’re right – we do have real friendship where we care and share with each other … maybe in ways we wouldn’t share in person if we were kinda shy like me.

    Much love and lots of rest…(but not for me)
    Peace,

    ~ RS ~

    We’re both shy in real life then, Ruby….I’m taking up the cause today, (inspired by you) and will be posting later. It’s a video, which I know you’re not terribly fond of, but it’s a very very short one, yet very powerful. I hope you check it out, love. Missed you too, by the way. I’ve been up nights with you lately with the old insomnia also!

  8. 8 AnthonyNorth September 27, 2007 at 8:24 am

    Hi OB,
    They say drugs can inspire the creative side in a person, but I wasn’t sure flu tonics would work until I read this 🙂
    Some would say that if you went to the right hypnotist, he’d see this as the initial sighting before an alien abduction.
    No wonder the Moon blushed!!!

    Man, I hope the aliens don’t come back for me again…I just got rid of that one pesky nasal implant.

  9. 9 Spyder September 27, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    OB- Hope you can make it! Post on my blog if you can.

    Blogger Gathering, Fans too!

    Thursday October 4th 2007, 5pm

    CHARLIE HOOPER’S BROOKSIDE BAR 816-361-8841
    12 W 63rd St
    Kansas City, MO 64113

    Hey Tony come feel the Love!

    I’ve found a conflict in my schedule but would rather do the meetup! I’m going to try to shuffle the other event so keep your fingers crossed…

  10. 10 Bella September 28, 2007 at 1:34 am

    “Can I just have one more moondance with you… my love?”

    Very cool post OB, it’s surreal when you find yourself alone with the moon. This post is lovely!

    I was fairly pleased at how this post turned out – Van Morrison was definitely playing in my head.

  11. 11 romi41 September 29, 2007 at 10:04 am

    I just clicked on this post ’cause I needed a little “OB action” 😉 , but I sure didn’t see that coming! That was so lovely, I love reading “lovely” things that set my tiny monkey-heart a flutter; it doesn’t happen very often…thank you! 🙂

    I always enjoy entertaining the simians out there. Glad I could give you a nice little surprise!

  12. 12 poseidonsmuse September 29, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    OB…That had to be the most coquettish little moon dance…I felt like a voyeur as I imagined you and that sexy, lemony moon “dancing” together. This post demonstrated your very capable literary abilities…each word so lusciously chosen…the metaphor so perfectly sculpted…In short – “mermalade fresh”. Thanks love…THAT was gorgeous!

    Thanks sweetie! I felt so inspired by the moon that morning and the words just flowed out quickly – little editing was required. Don’t you love it when that happens?

  13. 13 joebec October 1, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    dang, i thought i commented on this post but i must be smoking the cheap crack again. that was a very cool post. very poetic and beautiful.


  1. 1 dustbury.com Trackback on September 28, 2007 at 5:56 am
  2. 2 dustbury.com » Quote of the week Trackback on September 11, 2008 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

