Maximum Horsepower

Federation of Horsepower - Stay Down

My hip cousin, Venus, is married to a very hip (and deliciously handsome) dude named Troy, foptroy.jpglead guitarist for local Kansas City band Federation of Horsepower.  They’re having their CD release party Saturday night.  Today there were not one, but TWO articles in the local papers – The Kansas City Star and The Pitch.  Give ’em a read! 

.

Federation, from left: Gregg Todt, John Ferguson, Troy Van Horn, Chris Fugit

So I’m giving Troy and the boys a big shout out here from the Observation Deck.   And for a taste of FOH’s sound, check out their website on Myspace.    Alas, I will miss the CD release party due to a previously planned engagement, but you youngun’s have yourselves a rockin’ good time  – and Congratulations! 

10 Responses to “Maximum Horsepower”


  1. 1 V- October 11, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    Aren’t you sweet! I’m very proud of the boys they’ve worked hard for this. It’s not my musical preference but they are really good at what they do. I’m no young’en – as proof I will be carrying an extra set of ear plugs for the event.

    Good idea – now remember, no smoking! I blame the AC/DC concert in 1987 for my hearing loss. We won’t mention the 10 years of steady concert-going prior to that, but the ACDC show left me w/muffled hearing for 3 days.

  2. 2 Red October 11, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    Oooh, yummy.
    Thanks for sharing, MsOB!

    They’re all very good boys, too!

  3. 3 Deb October 11, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    I thought the tattoo said “scary donut” at first. I was confused. 😀

    Good luck to the Men of Horsepower!

    Maybe they’ll call their next CD Scary Donut!

  4. 4 Grace October 11, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Wow…congratulations to the men folk! (and to V, for capturing the heart of such a yummy guy 😉

    And he’s nice too! A real sweetie – she did good.

  5. 5 Doktor Holocaust October 11, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    ::headbangs, kicks things over, starts fires, frolicks around flaming kicked-over things:: WOOOOO!

    Federation of Horsepower, in league with Emperor Palpatine and the Frilly Pink Tomatoes, brings you… SCARY DONUT! this shall be my new battlecry. My friends have always been mystified by my fondness for hard rock, unable to grasp how I can go from the sombre introspection of Joy Division or the etherial soundscapes of the Cocteau Twins to… well… to things that sound like Federation of Horsepower. I think they forget that I was a teenage boy at one point, and in many ways still am one.

    I love headbanger music to a point – then it’s back to girlie cry music for me! Oooh, I like the Cocteau Twins too. and Hooverphonic.

  6. 6 david October 12, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    Wow. They’re really good. Really like their sound.

    Yeah, I like them too, which is unusual for me..

  7. 7 AnthonyNorth October 13, 2007 at 4:12 am

    The sound lives on.

    And you should know, Anthony (wink).

  8. 8 poseidonsmuse October 13, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Rock on OB! Thanks for the tip…There’s nothing quite like a little extra “Horsepower” 😉 xoxo

    We’re so proud of our rockstar!

  9. 9 Arm Jerker J. October 14, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    You had me at deliciously handsome…

    Handsome AND nice (and modest too!)

  10. 10 RubyShooZ October 15, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    Wow, congratulations to the guys and to Venus as well. It sounds like they’re well on their way and releasing a CD? Fantastic! Sorry you’re gonna miss the release party.

    Peace to all y’all.

    ~ RS ~

    I hope it was a success…we had so much rain that day, my event got rained out. Ended up hibernating at home and going to bed at 9pm! What a partygirl!


Leave a Reply

