Phase I: The Plan

5010_medium.jpg

It has finally come to pass that, after approximately 6 weeks after deciding to add onto the house, the plans have now been drawn up – and not without much effort and hand-wringing.  I really thought that drawing plans for a laundry room, kitchen pantry, and master suite would not be difficult.  How hard could it be, anyway?   So I filched the Home Designer software from work and loaded it up on my home computer and set to work.  The software isn’t hard to learn – there’s about a 3 hour learning curve with it – but I quickly reconfirmed something about myself:  I have a girl brain.    

The harder I tried to make the entire 24 x 26 space work, the more frustrated I became.  Every few days, members of my family would ask “have you got your plans done yet?”  and I’d have to answer “not yet.”  Since no one in my family currently has anything torn up at their own house, I’ve got this window of opportuninty to get everyone on board my project.  And once I have them, I’ve got them for the duration.   So the pressure’s been on, because if I don’t move on this soon, someone else will start a project at their own house and I’ll have to be satisfied with their sloppy home renovation assistance seconds.  You can see my dilemma.

Since this is my house, I felt the planning needed to be my baby.  But Ken, having the superior, ‘able to see it in 3-D brain’, jumped in.  And by golly, he did it, folks.  We’ve now got us some basic plans.   I’ve got a brother with a brand new Bobcat with all the major attachments, and he’s just itching to get out here to demo the back of the house and dig some footers.   And since he’s basically retired, he’s also going to be my free general contractor. 

This is gonna be sweet.

Phase II – bringing in the subs, finalizing plans, getting financed, getting a permit.  Let the madness begin.

12 Responses to “Phase I: The Plan”


  1. 1 Deb October 20, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    But wait, shouldn’t “get the camera to document the process” be part of phase I?

    Just kidding! 😀

    Glad to hear that phase II is in the works! I can’t even imagine trying to plan something like this!

    It’s a lot more complicated than it seemed at the beginning. I’m getting scared now!

  2. 2 abarclay12 October 20, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    Is that picture at the top a visual of the changes you’ll be making? Lots of open air space, which is good, and I am loving those yellow chairs. But seriously, good luck. I like how you’re trying to beat the clock, too, so you can make sure your family is dedicated to your renovation.

    My “Me First” philosophy of life is in full gear right now. Gotta keep everyone on MY project – very important!

  3. 3 Arm Jerker J. October 21, 2007 at 12:06 am

    Ah man though. When it finally comes together…I bet it will be awesome!

    It will be – I’ll probably sleep for about a thousand hours in my new bedroom when it’s done.

  4. 4 RubyShooZ October 21, 2007 at 9:17 am

    Ooh, sounds like fun and you and Ken sound just like me and my husband. I try and try with things like that then Mr. 3d brain comes in and voila!

    Get ready for some dust! You’re lucky your gonna have some family to help do the work. I’m envious! Have a wonderful time. Peace today, ~ RS ~

    My horrible anal retentiveness/OCD will be out of control for awhile. I can’t stand a mess – makes me crazier than usual.

  5. 5 Doktor Holocaust October 21, 2007 at 9:25 am

    stuff like that is why I just live in an apartment. I don’t have to worry about additions or renovations or anything.

    Yeah, but when you get a hankerin’ to tear out a wall, you can’t! The really unfortunate part about home ownership is the “you broke it, you fix it” thing. That’s a real drag.

  6. 6 poseidonsmuse October 21, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Woohoo! I am so excited for you OB! Now’s the time to design and plan your home in a very personal way…I’m sure that you and Ken will have a grand ol’ time…

    By the way – You’re tagged for the next addition to “Splendid” (A-mum might have already given you the heads up). My apologies for not telling you sooner, but I got very side-tracked yesterday!

    Hope you have a great remainder of the weekend…!!!!

    Man, I’ve been sidetracked for DAYS. I’ll get on that tonight. Haha! This gives me all day at work to think about it.

  7. 7 V- October 21, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    Girl, you picked a heck of a time to quit smoking! 🙂

    No shit! However, I’m telling myself I’ll feel stronger and more able to haul stuff around if I’m not smoking. My neighbor came over yesterday to dig up some of my hostas and he was panting and breathing really hard. So he had to sit down and smoke a couple of cigarettes.

  8. 8 Red October 21, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    Oooh yay! A Bobcat! How funnnn!

    Yeah, that’s gonna be some fun!

  9. 9 anonymum October 22, 2007 at 3:37 am

    i did come over to tell you, but lost my freaking connection!! *grrr*
    and we have a late inclusion…fuzz has put his hand up to be in on the fun as well, and pm has agreed to do the final chapter as her 3rd entry (guts that she is…)
    😆

    Oh she’s gutsy alright. And talented!

  10. 10 anonymum October 22, 2007 at 4:22 am

    duh maureen!!
    here’s the link to fuzz {if it works} if not just plug it into your browser or it’s on my page as well…
    http://blugstuff.blogspot.com/

    Thanks love. I’m going to do my part tonight!

  11. 11 Doktor Holocaust October 22, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    but my apartment is small. if i tear out a wall, things from the Outdoors might get in, and that’s bad. I had a hole in my wall for a month after my air conditioner leaked and the soggy wall below fell apart a bit. i don’t like holes in my wall.

    Yes, holes in wall = bad. Especially during the monsoon season.

  12. 12 talea October 23, 2007 at 8:07 am

    My girl brain always defeats me too, leaving the boyfriend looking smarter than he really is.
    And you have my respect….I’m too lazy to do anything on a scale that large.

    Actually I’m terrified! My OCD will be working overtime during the entire process.


Leave a Reply

