It’s Observant’s Favorite Holiday!!!

A wonderfully warped experience in 1977, when I was dragged to this movie by my BFF and fellow warpee, Miss Texas, who would not tell me what the movie was about…   I’ve been a Tim Currey groupie ever since, and experienced my first girl-crush on Columbia (Little Nell). 

8 Responses to “It’s Observant’s Favorite Holiday!!!”


  1. 1 Alyson October 31, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    I saw this for the first time in the theater last weekend. Loved the whole experience.

    I loved the untouched, no-audience participation, pristine RHPS experiences myself. After the hoopla started, I quit going.

  2. 2 Red October 31, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    I enjoyed your ABC meme as a daily read .. for several days :]
    I read it everytime I came to visit. Really, I did. And ya know what? Nothing ever changed!
    Teenage boys smell. Then they grow into stinky grown-up boys.

    Me and my friend Miss Texas are working on a developing theory about adolescent boys – since we both raised 3 boys between us and are the only females in our own homes. We’re pretty close to proving that men are just overdeveloped adolescents! I know this is a shocker, but we’re pretty sure it’s true..

    And I’m glad my ABC meme was as inspiring and entertaining to you as it was for me to write! I loved yours too :]

  3. 3 joebec October 31, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    They are showing this at a bunch of theatres tonight around me. what fun what fun!!

    Ah, good times eh?

  4. 4 Arm Jerker J. November 1, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Ok. Don’t shoot me. But I’ve only seen the beginning, some of the middle, and all of th end of this movie. I’ve never watched the whole thing from start to finish! Same with Clockwork Orange…seems I’m always at someone’s house, falling asleep on the couch when these movies come up!

    I have movies like that….um Casablanca for one. It’s true. I’ve never seen the whole thing all the way through. It’s embarrassing.

  5. 5 Brian November 1, 2007 at 8:48 am

    I develop a crush on Tim Curry every time I see it. That costume is delish!

    Oh baby, I know what you mean. I also had a thing for Riff Raff…love them bad boys.

  6. 6 Deb November 1, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    I’ve never seen the movie, but I think it gets shown at my local dinner movie theater once in a while as a midnight movie. I’ll have to check it out sometime! I’ve always meant to, and now I can see why it has such a following!

    It was quite a provocative storyline way back when. And it’s Susan Sarandon’s first movie role (I think).

  7. 7 m.toast November 1, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    >I loved the untouched, no-audience participation, pristine RHPS experiences myself. After the hoopla started, I quit going.

    Nohow. It’s 95% more fun when the costumed freaks turn a firehose on the audience, throw toast, and scream insults at the screen.

    Someone was playing the Time Warp on a boombox in the wurk lobby on Wednesday. I don’t think anyone had any idea. Cuz I got seriously stared at when I started singing along and doing the dance…

    I love to do the dance. Sometimes I do the dance at work, whilst singing along to the soundtrack in my head. I think I look pretty cool. We’ll have to agree to disagree on the audience participation thing. You know how it is when you’re part of the cutting edge of a cult favorite…when it becomes mainstream it’s no fun anymore.

  8. 8 abarclay12 November 1, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    Oh man. I got to see the Rocky Horror in an L.A. theater where all these wacko people acted it out and then came down off the stage and dragged people out of the audience and rubbed themselves against them. It was the greatest night of my life. I love this. Susan Sarandon is so great in it too, and T.Currey is sexy-time.

    He’s soo yummy, no?


Leave a Reply

