Gateway to the West, here I come

archbig.gif

That’s right folks, it’s time for Observant and her faithful companion Ken to take their annual Fall Weekend Excursion.   This year’s destination:  St. Louis – if you couldn’t guess from the picture, which means you’re either not a real American or you’re from Texas and still believe the gateway to the west is in Fort Worth.  I know you Texas people know what I’m talking about  (OK, I feel I’m somewhat entitled to that barb since I lived in the Great State of TX for a good number of years).   

Our only firm plan is to go up the Arch, which I’ve done but Ken has not.  Heehee, Ken does not like heights!  I guess this will be a good opportunity to find out if he’s also claustrophobic!  Those little tiny cars that take you to the top are a real trip, kids.    Not only that, but the Arch sways back in forth in the wind.  It’s scary-fun!  

We might also go on a riverboat ride – just like in the olden days!!!    Speaking of the olden days, the New Madrid earthquakes happened in 1811-1812.   These were magnitude 7.2-8.0 earthquakes, the strongest ever reported east of the Mississippi.   Booya California people!   My own neighborhood  was developed in the late 1800’s, specifically for people from the New Madrid area who wanted to relocate farther away from the earthquake zone.   

I hope there’s not another big one while we’re on top of the Arch.  They say it was built earthquake-proof, but do we really trust their word, people?  If it fell down, I could just hear it now – “Oops.  Looks like the construction specifications used in 1963 were actually substandard!   Sorry….” 

Well, I wouldn’t hear them say that, obviously (since I would be dead, smashed, blotto, obliterated), but you know what I mean. 

Have fun this weekend boys and girls.  I’ll be back Monday, unless the big one hits while I’m in the Arch (THE Gateway to the West) in which case I won’t be.

9 Responses to “Gateway to the West, here I come”


  1. 1 Grace November 2, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Have a wonderful vacation, OB 🙂 I’ll be here sweating over my computer keyboard drinking vast amounts of caffeine and resisting the temptation to smoke…CHAIN smoke in fact.

    Yep, NanoWriMo started yesterday! 🙂 Bagged my first 5100 words, so I’m feeling a little bit cocky. Hopefully by the time you’ve returned, I haven’t committed writer’s hari kari on a semisharp Pencil.

    xoxox

    Grace, I’m impressed! I can’t, for the life of me, think of a single short story to write – much less a novel! Good luck and NO CIGARETTES (although heaven knows I completely understand)

  2. 2 Red November 2, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Oh, have fun and be safe!
    I have some pictures of when my sister and mom went into the arch .. that’s a tinnnny little cubby they make you ride in!
    I do hope you make it home safe!!

    It was fun! Those little cars are 1960’s space age coolness.

  3. 3 Laurie Anne November 3, 2007 at 9:39 am

    Have a lovely, lovely romantic fall weekend.

    It was the perfect fall weekend – sigh!

  4. 4 Bill Howdle November 3, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    Have a wonderful trip. I have to say, as a Canadian I alway thought right here in Winnipeg was the gate way to the west. You will have to come and check it out to decide for yourself.

    I have never been to Canada, sad to say. It’s definitely on my list of places to visit.

  5. 5 poseidonsmuse November 3, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Woohoo! I’m a Canadian and I know all about your Missouri Arch [pats herself on the back]. I think I might have even mentioned it during one of my lame-o public speaking speeches when I was in grade-school [the arch isn’t lame-o, but my speech was…].

    Anyway, I hope you and Ken have (had) a great weekend getaway to the Gateway. Be sure to tell us all about your adventures (and misadventures) when you return. If you’re any bit the adventurer that I think you are…something tells me that you like straying off of the beaten path…

    Hugs…xoxo

    We did some whirlwind sightseeing on Saturday and climbed LOTS of stairs and did a fair amount of wine drinking! More later!

  6. 6 Paul B. November 4, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    I live well… somewhere over here and I know all about the Missouri Arch and the fact MacDonalds are petitioning to have a second arch built along side it…

    Have a great vacation..

    And if the current trend of corporate sponsorship is any indication, the St Louis Arch will be renamed The McDonald’s Arch and they will open a restaurant at the top. And they will sell only Coke products and every year the McRib (that marvel of meat-shaping ingenuity) will mysteriously reappear for ‘a limited time only.’

  7. 7 Doktor Holocaust November 4, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    As a native Gulf-Coaster, I assert that the Gateway to the West is New Orleans, the shining jewel of the Louisiana Purchase, without which the phrase “Western United States” would refer to Illinois, Wisconsin, Mississippi, and the little ends of Kentucky and Tennessee.

    Yes, I read up on my Louisiana Purchase facts this weekend while immersing myself in very old St. Louis history. New Orleans is another one of my favorite cities – one could argue for it being A Gateway to the West.

  8. 8 poseidonsmuse November 5, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Yay Bill! The Canadian West is certainly the “Best” and I think Winnipeg is a great city. I’m in the heart of Cowboy country and I’m loving it.

    OB – Ooooooh! I can’t wait to hear about the wine drinking – I hope that preceded the climb up said stairs 😉 !!!!

    Missed you Babe – glad your back and I’m glad you had a nice weekend!

    I always hit that “submit” button at the exact moment it dawns on me that I’ve misspelled…

  9. 9 poseidonsmuse November 5, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    glad that you’re back, “you’re”, not “your”…[sigh].


Leave a Reply

