Weekend update

There’s nothing like a fall jaunt…especially to a wine-infused town like St. Louis and the surrounding area.  Did y’all know that we Midwesterners grow some kick-ass wine grapes?   Well we do, and I sampled some of our fine wines this weekend.   Of course, not to be outdone, St. Louis is also home to Budweiser – The Kind of Beers, dontcha know?  And yes, some Bud was consumed.  Free Bud.  At the brewery tour.  Which kicked ass because of the free beer.  (Did ya hear that, Reg?)

But I digress…

Here’s the weekend in a nutshell: 

Top of the Arch.  Went up in the tiny space-age pod.  Saw lots of stuff including the curvature of the earth.  

Toured the Old Courthouse  where the Dred Scott case was heard and decided. 

Riverboat tour.  Let me tell you, the banks of the Mississippi in the middle of an industrial city ain’t real purty.  Highlight of the hour trip was seeing an ammonia barge going down the river.  Freaky to see a barge loaded with thousands of tons of ammonia being pushed up the river to its destination. 

Lunch at Laclede’s Landing, then oldest part of St. Louis, then on to the Anheuser-Busch facilities for a free tour.  Free!  Plus free beer!  Free!

Last, but not least, we drove over to St. Charles – a fine old town on the Missouri river AND the location of the first state capitol of Missouri – where we did some post-alcohol consumption shopping.  I must admit that I was feeling pretty good after the brewery tour, which seemed to loosen up this miser-girl’s wallet considerably.  We had a very fine dinner on Main Street at The Little House Winery, where we sat outside in the crispy fall air, warmed by a blazing fire pit.   

After that whirlwind day, Mr. Observant and I ended up back at our very nice hotel, where Mr. O had to practically hold me back from crashing a wedding and stealing a piece of wedding cake.  Observant really wanted a piece of cake, but it was not to be.  Mr. O said I would regret it in the morning.   A Hershey’s bar and a coffee did me just fine though, and I promptly fell asleep directly after consuming my yummy chocolate treat.    It was all of 8:30pm. 

We left Sunday morning and took a scenic drive through the country.  There’s nothing like fall color, is there?  The trees were at their peak; that time right before they lose their leaves when the reds and oranges and yellows and golds are absolutely stunning.  We made one last wine tasting stop in Hermann, at the Stone Hill Winery – home of my most favoritest wine in the whole wide world – Norton.   If you like a good, dry red wine, the Norton grape makes a tasty (and reasonably priced) addition to your wine cellar.   Observant highly recommends.

On another note – why do we keep fucking with the time?  I hate it when we spring forward AND when we fall back.  It depresses me to have my circadian rhythm messed with so cavalierly.   Let’s just leave it one way or the other and be done with it.    That’s my 2cents worth on THAT subject.

Hope y’all had a nice relaxing weekend.  I’m slowly making my way through my Blog reader, and if I haven’t been to your place yet don’t fret.  I’m still adjusting to the time change.

16 Responses to “Weekend update”


  1. 1 Spyder November 5, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    Fall is my fav season!

    So many reasons to love it: #1 being that it’s not muddy. Also: not too hot, not too cold.

  2. 2 romi41 November 5, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    What a lovely weekend; I travelled there through your eyes OB, and yeah, I gotta say, the fall leaves description was my favourite part 🙂

    Observant likes brightly colored foilage.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust November 6, 2007 at 5:45 am

    You think it’s bad THIS year, next year they are changing the dates again, apparently because they’ve discovered that they CAN do this whenever they want and get a kick out of messing with people.

    If i was president, I would do the exact same thing for three years, and then, as part of my run-up to re-election, outlaw Daylight Savings Time.

    Yes! It needs to be outlawed, never to be seen or heard from again. Ever.

  4. 4 Deb November 6, 2007 at 6:03 am

    That’s so funny that you talked about Norton grapes. I’d never heard of them before last week, when a coworker told me about a winery in this area that apparently has a good norton wine. I’m definitely going to have to check it out!

    Sounds like you had a nice weekend!

    It’s uber-yummy. Since it’s a dry red, I know you’ll like it.

  5. 5 V- November 6, 2007 at 8:45 am

    I’m glad you and Ken had such a perfect weekend. I’ve never been a big fan of St Louis, but you make it sound wonderful, maybe I need to re-visit it.

    I like the fact that it’s old – the Budweiser compound is really cool and the neighborhood surrounding it (Soulard) is really old and funky.

  6. 6 Alyson November 6, 2007 at 9:42 am

    Glad you had a great weekend. I haven’t been to STL in forever.

    I hadn’t been there in at least 10years, and that was a “family” excursion when I was married to my ex-husband. This visit managed to exorcise those icky associations.

  7. 7 Red November 6, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    Glad to see you had a good time .. and free beer!!!
    I bet that StCharles is much different than our StCharles, which only houses 400 people or so.
    Did you get any pictures .. and are ya gonna share?

    Haha! I forgot my camera! If I’d had it, there would be many pictures of me begging Ken to stop at the next landing, after climbing many steep stairs. There seem to be a lot of stairs in St. Louis.

  8. 8 pradapixie November 6, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    Sounds a good weekend , but asleep at 8.30 what sort of weekend away is that? what happened to dancing the night away? LOL
    pxx

    I was soooo tired! My former, much younger self would be appalled at this version of me.

  9. 9 abarclay12 November 6, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    I like that you took a riverboat cruise on the Mississippi and saw a boat full of amomonia cruising past you. There’s something poetic about that. Right now my juniors are reading Huck Finn, so I’ll tell them about Huck most likely would have been a stow-away on that ammonia barge.

    Yes, that would make a great image – talk about a time warp! We saw a barge loaded with busted up concrete first, which was pretty fascinating, but the ammonia barge we saw later won the prize for ‘Best View of Shit You Can’t See Anywhere Else.’

  10. 10 Doktor Holocaust November 6, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    So you support my bid for Fascist Warlord of the United States? I promise an end to Daylight Savings Time, a valiant attempt to end Daylight overall, and equal-opportunity persecution of all races, religions, and countries that I do not run.

    At this point, I’d support Mussolini if he came back from the dead, as long as he would end the nightmare that is Daylight Savings Time.

  11. 11 anonymum November 7, 2007 at 6:36 am

    it sounds like you had a great weekend and that’s always good…and it would seem from the comments that dr h is looking to run in 4 years?
    sounds like you could do a lot worse!
    😉

    Well, the elections ARE coming up, and we need a good 3rd party candidate…

  12. 12 Doktor Holocaust November 7, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    How does “Doktor Holocaust: Against the World, Against Life” sound for a campaign slogan? It’s kinda cribbed from Michael Houellebecq’s title for his biography of HP Lovecraft, but it sounds pretty damn good and gets right to the point. There will be genocide, conducted by random lottery rather than anything as unreliable as sorting by race or religion. gotta get the planet down to a manageable 3 billion fleshies somehow, after all, so we will be less a drain on natural resources. I support government subsidizing of green technologies like wind-farms, hydrogen/ethanol/meat/whatever powered cars, cannibalism, etc. I will also end all foreign aid until other randomly-selected countries that I don’t control yet adopt similar environmental policies. oh, and I am banning childbirth for no less than ten years. Please see your nearest Doktor of Stormtroopering to be assigned a lottery number. if you’ve got a 1, contratulations! If you get a 2, we advise using your remaining time to console relatives, and don’t worry about burial arrangements – we’re going to process your meat for mineral reclamation due to all the chemicals most people eat these days anyway.

    Doktor Holocaust: Occasionally Benevolent Ruler for a Brave New World Veneer of Order!

    This cracked me up: ‘we’re going to process your meat for mineral reclamation due to all the chemicals most people eat these days anyway.’ Yup, absolutely the truth. Also I think that, instead of a lottery, we should only issue permits for childbearing to people who (1) aren’t illiterate, and (2) don’t think that Entertainment Tonight is “the news”

  13. 13 Arm Jerker J. November 7, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    I’m so envying this jaunt…A girl can only dream to have some vacation. Well vacation and some dough! I spent most of my weekend working…But I did manage to take a photographic stroll around the lake. I just wish I could take the kind of trips, like you did, where you can really absorb a town. And a little wine tasting as well!!!

    I’ve been doing quite a bit of “wine tasting” lately!

  14. 14 anandamide November 9, 2007 at 11:11 am

    hmmmmm….I’ve heard such mixed reports about St. Louis, I’ve never payed it a visit. But that “free beer” thing was pretty convincing !!!!

    Kiddo, the free beer was pretty sweet – made St. Louis look almost purty.

  15. 15 joebec November 15, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    holy shit!! i’m so behind on my blog reading and you even gave me a shout out!!

    *hangs head in shame*

    i certainly hope you had lots of beer and thought of me the whole time!!!

    i gotta get to st. louis, seriously..soon.

    I did! I thought “Reg would really love this tour”.

  16. 16 CuriousC November 19, 2007 at 8:01 am

    oh! When I read your bit about ‘we Midwesterners grow good grapes’ (or something – too lazy to go get right, sorry), I just had the best reminisces about HERMANN and then you mention it! Took me back, I tell you! If you haven’t already done this, go to Rocheport just west of Columbia and have a glass of wine looking over the wide ol’ Missouri from high up on the cliff. I miss mid-Mo, sigh. Thanks for a great post, “C”


Leave a Reply

