Mama said it wasn’t easy

It’s been one of those weeks…

1.  …when, upon returning home from work, you want to immediately start hitting the booze.

2.  …when, upon returning home from work, you have only the energy to sit like a zombie in front of a TV set for 5 hours until it’s time to go to sleep.

3.  …when one entertains fantasies of walking off the job whilst flipping everyone the finger.

4.  …when you find yourself muttering to yourself “I hate this fucking place”.

5.  …the thought of blogging anything is almost too much effort.

Sorry guys, I just can’t seem to get it together this week.  I miss my Marlboro friend and haven’t figured out how to self-soothe yet.  It’s kind of like being a baby again, minus the diapers and the breast feeding. 

15 Responses to “Mama said it wasn’t easy”


  1. 1 abarclay12 November 9, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Umm, your post pretty much describes my entire 2006. Is that bad?

    It’s not so much bad as it is very strange right now.

  2. 2 Deb November 9, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    bobs are good for self-soothing, but i’d think a ken would be too!

    I have nothing to add to abarclay’s statement (though replace the 6 with an astrick), and I’ve never had a TV or been a smoker, but I have hated my job(s) for a long time.

    Jobs are good for paying the bills, though, and they can keep you in booze.

    Ah hah! I knew there was a bright side there somewhere! So true, so true.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust November 9, 2007 at 5:35 pm

    I prescribe:
    1) find a cigarette-flavored breast to suck on and get some adult diapers. seriously. If you’re taking enough crap at the office to be in that state, you deserve to have whatever you want.

    2) I had the post-quitting zombification myself and found that upping my caffeine intake works wonders. You can use Umph as a way to turn any beverage into barely-legal stimulant (100mg of caffeine a tablet), or, if fizzy slightly lemony drinks are not your thing, there are Rocket Chocolates with 150mg of the goodstuff per truffle. my own venerable father, Nuclear Holocaust, has been on a daily regimen of both since he gave up chewing tobacco.

    Trust me, I’m a Doktor.

    Also, hating your job can be a useful thing. I fucking hate my job sometimes, not the actual work, which is lobotomized-chimp easy, but at times the people i have to put up with and the conditions in which i must do so get to me. I follow the advice of the good Saint Darth Vader and USE my Hate. “I’ll show them,” I think (or occasionally say out loud), “I’LL SHOW THEM ALL!” and then I cackle and use my hate to be phenomenally more productive than the pathetic meat-puppets around me. I channel it into a freakish warp-spasm of wrath and carnage nut unlike Cuchulainn or my Berserker ancestors. I get taller, my voice gets deeper, I occasionally grow extra teeth and fingers, my hair grows an inch, and I can’t stop cackling like a homicidal maniac.

    Unfortunately, certain behaviors would only label me as a “bitch” which, being the only chick in the building most of the time, is kind of bad for me. However, I secretly glow with the knowledge that “they” would have to replace me with two people instead of one. I know this job so well I could do it in my sleep – but it’s too complicated for a new person to do alone.

  4. 4 RubyShooZ November 9, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Hi ladyfriend,

    I’m sorry it’s been one of those weeks. Here’s to a great weekend and a new outlook.

    Much peace and love to you today.

    ~ RS ~

    Hi Roobs! So good to see you here today. Yes, a couple of days off is just what the doctor ordered. Already feel better!

  5. 5 AnthonyNorth November 10, 2007 at 9:36 am

    Hi OB,
    Hang on in there. You’ll work it out. All I can offer you are my best wishes and a 🙂

    Thanks North! You’re right – I’m working it out (and thanks for the smile)

  6. 6 prisonmike November 10, 2007 at 9:41 am

    I hope last night helped. I’m sorry I didn’t get to talk with you two more than I did, but I kinda had something to do most of the time.

    Please know, and you probably do already, that I think of you and send you good thoughts and encouragement via the cosmos every day. Tune your radio better!

    You don’t have to entertain everyone all the time. Pull the curtains once in a awhile and decompress.

    Thanx for the bitchin gift BTW. Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    11/16 is the actual day.

    I had a fabulous time, darlin’. You mean I DON’T have to be the star of the show all the time??? But who will take my place?

  7. 7 talea November 10, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    Yep. I am with you. I threaten every day to quit my job, cuz it’s just easier than putting up with it.

    I haven’t said it out loud at work, but I think it a lot. Sometimes I mutter to myself.

  8. 8 ~m November 11, 2007 at 7:30 am

    Awww, OB. I’m so with you on this post.
    I know where you’re at and yeah, it sucks.
    The sun will return, eventually.
    Keep the faith . . .
    ~m

    I was so lucky for so long to have loved my job (back when it was a family business, and not someone else’s business). I think it may be getting time for the last family member left at the company to skedaddle off into the sunset…

  9. 9 pradapixie November 11, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    so put all the money saved for those nasty cigs and treat yourself to a spa day to restore your batteries perhaps.

    hope you are feeling brighter this end of the weekend.
    pxx

    The weekends are lifesavers for sure! Haha – I’m taking Monday off too!

  10. 10 Red November 11, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    Aww, MsOB. It does get better, hon, it does. Nobody can tell you how or why or even when, you’ll have to find out for yourself . . but it does get better.
    I hope your time to turn around is soon.

    It has to, right? It’s just a weird place right now and I’m not sure I belong there anymore.

  11. 11 anonymum November 12, 2007 at 4:47 am

    i’m hearin’ you darlin’ make no mistake! happens to one and all at some point..chill out, have a drink, light a bong…you’ll feel MUCH better and won’t give a rats arse
    😉

    Thanks Moe! Things are better – much wine and merriment later!

  12. 12 observantbystander November 12, 2007 at 7:08 am

    Awww, you guys are great to listen to me whine about my personal problems. What a difference a weekend will make (and shopping therapy!). I’m so lucky to have such great, faithful friends out here in blogland – thanks y’all!

  13. 13 Doktor Holocaust November 12, 2007 at 9:33 am

    The neat thing about office labels is that a bit of heat weakens the adhesive, so that “bitch” label will peel right off and you can stick it to someone else’s back. I am a Doktor, I know these things. I can, and often do, do my job in my sleep. so far no one’s noticed.

    That’s 100% good advice Doktor. I wonder how the warehouse guy would look with a “bitch” label on his back. Hmmm.

  14. 14 joebec November 15, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    wow, that’s like every day for me… the booze part i mean.

    Heehee! Me too.

  15. 15 RubyShooZ November 15, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    I figure if anyone knows it’s you – where’s that PM gone off to? Write to me personally if it’s a personal matter would you please?

    Peace today.

    ~ RS ~

    Nothing yet. I’ll let you know.


Leave a Reply

