Veteran’s Day – It’s only a holiday if you make it one (or if you work for the gov’t)

Ahhhhhhh. 

That’s the sound of relaxation.  It was indeed a nice and fairly relaxing weekend, and I enjoyed it so much I decided to take a personal day today, too.   Plus I got to thinking “Observant, today is Veteran’s Day and who’s a veteran???   YOU are!   And who is more entitled to take the day off than you?  NOBODY!”

OK, I guess if you’re sick or something it’d be OK to take off work, but for sure all Veterans should be given the day off.  No – we should be forced to take the day off. 

“Go ahead, Veterans.  We know you worked hard to protect and serve our fair country.  Don’t even think of getting up to go to work today.  You stay home and celebrate YOU!” 

This is what I imagined every American was thinking today, and Americans I heard your pleas!

So I called work and told them I was taking care of personal business – which is true since I’m sitting here blogging.  Then I think I’ll pat myself on the back a few times for being a Vet.  Oh, and there will probably be a nap squeezed in sometime today.   Gotta stay productive.

PS – No, I did not smoke this weekend.  I wanted to, but I didn’t because I have willpower of steel – all veterans do, don’t ya know?

http://www.barefootsworld.net/graphics/iwomtsurubachi.jpg

I’m the one on the far right.   Nice ass, yes?

10 Responses to “Veteran’s Day – It’s only a holiday if you make it one (or if you work for the gov’t)”


  1. 1 Alyson November 12, 2007 at 8:03 am

    You, and all veteran’s, totally deserve the day off. Hope you have a great time.

    Thanks! Now if they’d only make Mother’s day and Father’s day mandatory 3-day weekends…

  2. 2 Sorrow November 12, 2007 at 9:22 am

    Yes, very nice Bum. Nap in a sunny window, sounds like the order of the day!

    I had a wonderful nap with the dog. Verrrry relaxing day!

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust November 12, 2007 at 9:36 am

    I work for a bank, but not on Veteran’s Day, heh. I have spent my morning so far watching cartoons and lounging on the couch, and am working up the gumption to put on something other than pajamas or go see a movie, or maybe put on clean pajamas and go see a movie.

    I think pajamas should be allowed everywhere.

  4. 4 Bill Howdle November 12, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    Hey, I am not even a veteran, but I agree all should get the day off.
    A day off you have all earned. Enjoy it.

    Heehee, the more I think about it, the more I agree! I’ve never gotten off for Veteran’s day before – it was kind of nice even though I had to take a vacation day to do it.

  5. 5 Grace November 12, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    You’re a veteran, OB??? WOW>>>THANK YOU for your service!!! 🙂

    I posted something you might like, then, on my blog today…

    Hope you are doing well and good job on staying Smoke Free

    Yes! Still smoke free! I’ll be over later to get caught up, Grace. Thanks sweetie.

  6. 6 Spyder November 12, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Way to go on the not smoking! Remind me n ever to piss you off since you probanly know many ways to kick my ass! It’s always an honor to meet a vet. Thank you!

    Haha – I couldn’t kick anybody’s ass (but don’t tell). I served during the slacker years – 1975-1979.

  7. 7 Red November 12, 2007 at 11:15 pm

    Hell yes you deserve the day off .. and no, not all gov’t workers had the day off. The husband had to work.

    And thank you, hon, for being a vet.

    See – it’s one of those holidays that ought to be mandatory. What’s up with that? And, you’re welcome – although if there’d been a war when I was serving, God help us all.

  8. 8 AnthonyNorth November 13, 2007 at 9:09 am

    As a UK Veteran I agree you should have the day off – even if WE don’t get one.
    I refuse, absolutely, to comment on the ass 🙂

    Hey, that sucks about no Vet’s day in the UK. Bastards.

    Happy US Veteran’s Day to you, North!

  9. 9 cowgalutah November 13, 2007 at 11:22 am

    one day off a year…I say you deserve more, way more!

    I personally think I should get paid for just being me, but I haven’t been able to convince anyone else of that.

  10. 10 joebec November 15, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    wow, that IS a nice ass!! way to go!

    Thank you (takes bow).


Leave a Reply

