When your parents become your children

My crazy-ass dad has been in the hospital with pneumonia for the last 5 days.  I say “crazy-ass dad” in a lovingway because he’s insanely funny – not because he’s insanely psycho.  Anyway, he’s a sick puppy right now.   My dad is 70 years old and has been smoking practically since he was a toddler, so the lung thing was inevitable.    He’d supposedly quit but has been sneaking smokes and puffs from the rest of us for the last several months (well, not from me now, since I went and quit the nasty habit), behind my mom’s back.

But this pneumonia thing scared the shit out of all of us.  My little brother went to the house today to sweep all the cigs out from Dad’s little hidey holes, and I outed him to mom today

“Mommy, you know dad’s been smoking lately.”
“I THOUGHT I’d been smelling cigarette smoke!”

Well duh.

Since I’ve been watching that show Intervention for the last 3 years, I suggested we have an intervention for dad’s cigarette problem.  “Daddy, your cigarette smoking has affected me negatively in the following ways….”  Yeah, that’d probably go over REAL well.  He’d be the kind of person you see on the TV show that stands up and says “Oh HELL no, you fucking traitors.” 

But here’s the real problem – the doctor strongly suspects dad actually has emphysema, but he can’t diagnose him until he can get a clear scan of his lungs, after his pneumonia is licked.    Now, I’m the kind of gal who believes in live and let live – up to the point where your livin’ starts affecting other people.  Not only does the old man have to quit smoking, he also has to lose a significant amount of weight.  Why?  Because he’s already a diabetic,  has high blood pressure and high cholesterol – so add the potential emphysema or lung cancer to the mix and he’s just one big fat jolly mess. 

So kids, I’m going to be on a sporadic blogging schedule for awhile.  I’ve also run into a few problems with my room addition project that have to be addressed, my job sucks ass right now and I’m all tuckered out by the end of the day. 

So I’ll be around, checking in with y’all, just not regularly for awhile.  And for those of you who are wondering about the whereabouts of Muse, I have no information at this time.  I’ve emailed her but no reply has come yet.  I miss her too…

20 Responses to “When your parents become your children”


  1. 1 Grace November 19, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    ((( OB )))

    Oh, honey, I wish you and your family all the best and pray your dad gets better SOON! What a sucky thing to have happen right before the holidays, too! 😦 Having spent quite a bit of time in the hospital with both parents, I can sympathize…my dad was a closet smoker himself, with lung disease.

    Thanks for checking on Muse…as I told Deb, I sent her an email – oh – 10 days or so ago??? a week ago?? Nothing 😦 Hope our Little Mermaid is ok…

    You take GOOD care of yourself and su familia. May everyone be up and out of bed soon – unless the Triptophane (sp) puts them there 😉

  2. 2 Paul November 19, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    I quit smoking on June 1st using Chantix. Haven’t had a cigarette since. Frankly its a miracle drug!!! I NEVER could have done it without it. It’s cheaper than buying cigarettes. Chantix cost US$119 a month from CVS. Think about getting it for your Dad. It really does work. If you need or want to talk about it more… just email me.

    =Paul

  3. 3 Red November 19, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    Aww, hon .. I’m sending happy and get well thoughts to your Pops, hoping he’ll come out of this sickness fast, quick and in a hurry! I do hope he recovers and will think long and hard about that smoking thing. One can only hope for the best.
    And do take care of yourself as well, MsOB.
    *hugs!*

  4. 4 Doktor Holocaust November 20, 2007 at 5:24 am

    and that is why i hardly ever go to doctors. They make their money treating ailments, so of course they’re going to diagnose someone with as many chronic health woes as they can get away with, and an aging overweight man, to them, is like a big bag of money waiting to happen.

  5. 5 Sorrow November 20, 2007 at 10:57 am

    I believe there is an saying that goes ” may you live long enough that your parents become your kids” …Hang tough! I am touched that you find the humor in it, that is the hardest thing to do when dealing with folks! Best of luck!

  6. 6 joebec November 20, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    i hope your daddy gets to feelin better. you don’t worry about us, we’ll be checking on you and you just take care of you. we’ll be here!!

  7. 7 abarclay12 November 20, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    Hang in there Observant. Thinking of you.

    Andrea

  8. 8 venus00 November 21, 2007 at 5:12 am

    Aww honey, I’m sorry. I had no idea Uncle Ed was in the hospital. He’s so ornery, I know he won’t stay down for long. Please give him my best and give your mom a hug for me. You’re all in my thoughts and prayers. Please call me if you need anything.
    Love you,
    V

  9. 9 AnthonyNorth November 21, 2007 at 9:39 am

    Hope your Dad gets well soon.
    On a lighter note, I’ve begun to notice my own kids trying to play ‘parent’. So far, the evil look keeps them at bay 🙂

  10. 10 pradapixie November 23, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Take care of yourself and your loved ones.
    We’ll all still be here when you have time.
    pxx

  11. 11 RubyShooZ November 27, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    I wish you and your dad and whole family all the best. I do hope to see you once in a while – I’ve not had the ability to be everywhere for everyone all the time and have needed to take time for me to rest, to sleep, to read to just let this stuff slide and slide it’s done.

    So bottom line is – it’s okay, things manage, people don’t go away just because we do and we’re thinking of you no matter what. You’ll be around because you just can’t leave…

    Your plans for the house will work out, your dad will … be okay or not and it will all be as it should be somehow or another. I know you have the strength and the will to get through no matter what and iffen you need anything, you know you got connections to help you through.

    We care. I care.

    Much love, always peace and thinking of you.

    Peace baby.

    ~ RS ~

  12. 12 Red November 28, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    I be missin’ the OB .. I hope all is well.

  13. 13 Simonne November 29, 2007 at 6:08 am

    Hey gorgeous woman! I’m so sorry to hear about your dad. These old guys love to treat their bodies like an old boot don’t they?! I’m sending him, and you, all my love and healing energy.
    I just tried to find Muse and feel very sad now! I hope she’s happy and well.
    I hope to be around too, but it won’t be as much as it used to in the old days I’m afraid – there just aren’t enough hours in the day…
    Much love to you xx

  14. 14 Bill Howdle November 29, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    Just wanted to say hi, you are always in my prayers.
    Bill

  15. 15 motherwintermoon November 29, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dad. 😦

    Sending prayers and blessings for a speedy recovery and the will to quite smoking, with the help of his loved ones.

    You obviously take after your dad in the sense of humor department. You are a laugh riot. The ability to make people laugh and to see things humorously is the best trait of all!

    You’re in my thoughts. Will miss your wit. Please keep us updated about your dad and how everything is going.

    Big hugs, MW

  16. 16 poseidonsmuse November 29, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    First of all…I hope you father is faring well and that your family is finding the strength and courage to support him at this time. Too, I hope that you are taking good care of yourself, despite all of this. You are of no help to anyone if you are not taking proper care of yourself. I will keep you and your father in my thoughts.

    Also, Gosh…I am so terribly sorry to have left you like that. I do not make a habit of checking my email accounts for much of my time away this month and I was without computer access for much of the time (road travel, lack of sleep and adventure can take a toll on a person). I had wanted to email you to let you know what wa going on…then the whirlwind of November hit. Thus, I cannot do anything but prostrate myself before you and shower you with a million kisses in the hopes that you’ll forgive me?! Pretty please? [ok…now I’m a little melodramatic, but you have a right to be pissed with me].

    Actully, during my wanderings I got up to quite a bit of travel throughout the whole of November. I can only begin to tell you that I missed everyone so much and wanted to share aspects of my journey. While away, however, it felt so utterly refreshing to have that total technology vacation. However, in the future I will not be so rude as to leave without so much as a word.

    I have so many magical feelings from my journeys…the places I’ve been, the people I’ve met…the mysteries that I’ve discovered. I can’t wait to share these in some of my upcoming posts. By the way, I met some new Navajo lady friends on my journey…they have a message of Peace and Love…and the desert is so absolutely magical at sunset.

    Oh…and Champix (http://www.pfizer.ca/english/newsroom/press%20releases/default.asp?s=1&releaseID=220) is a miracle stop-smoking pill according to one of my friends (who survived one of my acupuncture treatments to feel good enough to get her ass to her doc and get a prescription to stop smoking – she gives my itty bitty needles credit for this…I’m not so sure…but, what the hey…).

    xoxo

  17. 17 ~m December 2, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    Keep the faith.
    Sometimes it’s all you can do.
    ~m

  18. 18 writerchick December 7, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Hey Karen,
    I know I’m late to the party here, but I just want to say I’m praying for your pop. He sounds a lot like my dad was, a cantankerous and lovable dude. I hope his illness subsides and he comes to the realization that he must take care of himself, if not for him, for the rest of your family. It’s hard to get them to break lifelong habits and I hope you’re able to convince him.

    Take care of yourself, really honey, and like Michael says, ‘keep the faith.’

    Love
    Annie

  19. 19 Laurie December 15, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    Karen,
    It’s been a while since I’ve commented. I’m a lurker, I admit it.
    Take good care of yourself during this stressful time. Nicotine addiction is horrible. I have quite smoking quite a few times but this time I’m vowing it has to be the last–your post only solidified my committment. Thank you.
    My prayers and thoughts are going out to you and dad and your whole family.
    My dad started smoking at age 10 (really) and it took a heart attack for the guy to quit cold turkey. He got so scared, he quit and never tool another drag. Maybe this will be your dad’s wake-up call.


  1. 1 About Champix « Ramblings From the Mermaid Tavern Trackback on November 29, 2007 at 7:14 pm

Leave a Reply

