Putting our big-girl panties on

So Hillary teared up on the campaign trail yesterday.  And this is newswothy because…..??? 

Political candidates have been catching flak about their tears for decades.  Ed Muskie was accused of crying over a scathing newspaper article attacking his wife during his 1972 presidential bid (he ended up dropping out).  Pat Schroeder let the tears flow when she announced that she wouldn’t be running for president in 1987 and she STILL gets shit for it.    Hell, even George Bush tears up every now and then (probably on Cheney’s orders to “show some emotion, dammit.   We don’t want the public to find out you’re just a sock puppet”).

So we’ve got us a gen-u-ine female presidential candidate now and it seems all eyes are on her, well… her eyes.   Yesterday’s headlines were all abuzz with the news that it appeared that Hillary “teared up” during her meet & greet yesterday in New Hampshire. 

“Here’s the news footage!  You be the judge!  Did she or didn’t she tear up when asked how she was doing?”

It was apparently so ambiguous as to warrant a separate national vote on the matter.

While it’s generally OK these days for our manly men politicians to show a little emotion publicly once in awhile (and preferably regarding manly pursuits such as the horrors of war), similar shows of female emotion are still considered a sign of weakness.  When John Edwards was asked about the so-called crying incident yesterday, his response was along the lines of  “Well, I believe our country’s leaders should show strength, not weakness.” 

And what, pray tell, would President John Edwards do if his wife died while he was in office? 

Of course we wouldn’t expect him to soldier on, determined to get through the whole thing dry-eyed.  No we wouldn’t.  Because that would make him a heartless bastard.  A woman president crying over the loss of her husband though?  Some might fear that she’d just simply fall apart and never be able to function again.

And that’s really the problem with female tears, isn’t it?  Men are afraid we’ll start crying and never be able to stop.   

I’m afraid this nation may not be ready for a female president.  Especially if we’re still freaking out about whether or not the female candidate teared up on the campaign trail.  I think we’d all best put our Big-Girl panties on and start worrying about what the candidates actually believe in, as opposed to whether or not they happen to cry occasionally. 

17 Responses to “Putting our big-girl panties on”


  1. 1 Spyder January 8, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Glad to see you posting! I wonder how it will affect Hillary’s results. Should she have shown that side before now?

    Could be… I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that, instead of not liking any of the candidates, that I LIKE THEM ALL!!! Yes it’s true. I wish I could morph them all into one big super-candidate, tears and all.

  2. 2 prisonmike January 8, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Glad to see you back as well, sisterfriend.

    I’m just disappointed that Hillary’s performance happened too late for consideration for this year’s Oscar voting. Bravo Evita!!!! She took a page directly from Bubba’s book of emotional recipes. From righteous, finger wagging indignation to lip-biting contrition, Slicky was/is da master. Hillary’s only genuine emotion as far as I can tell, is rage.

    John Edwards is so sensitive he channels the thoughts of the unborn! And in every case, the thoughts are the same (45 million dollars…45 million dollars….).

    Looks like Osama Baraka will be the liberal to beat come November.

    “Don’t cry for me New York people! I’m still your Senator! And don’t forget it! I’ll be back in 2009!!!!!!!!!!

    I’m ready for a woman as president. Just not that woman.

    Glad to have you on board on this issue, Mikie! Somehow I knew this topic would flush you out… You know I’m just a big ball of Democratic goodness, and being that, I accept, even relish being beat over the head with it! Love the comment about Edwards channeling the thoughts of the unborn – heehee! Methinks Barbara Jordan should have run for Prez 20 years ago…

  3. 3 poseidonsmuse January 8, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Wow! I hadn’t even heard about Hilary’s teary eyed campaign visits. Next, thing you know, “People” magazine will be doing a spread of fashion do’s and don’ts…and guess who will be spotlighted? I don’t know…she’s got a tough road ahead campaigning as the first female president…and we’ve certainly got to give her credit for that (tears or not). Whether or not she’ll make a good diplomat is up for debate. Expect the media to really play up the drama during this election. You poor Americans…tsk, tsk, tsk…{can’t say our Canuck media takes it easy on our diplomats either…).

    Glad to see you waving some political banners over here too Karen! Way to go. So glad to have you back!

    Tootaloo for now! xoxo

    Yeah, I’m waving my Democratic freak flag high! I basically hate election years though – so many hate-filled ads and dirty tricks…

  4. 4 romi41 January 8, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Oh yay, Clinton just won the N.H. primary! (okay, I’m following this a bit, and though I’m Canadian and can’t vote, I find myself in the H-Rod camp 😉 )…anyhoo, I was watching the big CNN special on the N.H. thing earlier this evening, and you’re so right, it was ALL ABOUT the tears, and what THAT represented…they were showing close-ups and everything…sigh…at the same time, they kept referencing Obama’s chances in relation to minority populations, and no one even flinched…it’s like journalists are perfectly okay with the idea that candidates will get votes based on things like race “relatability”, or tears, rather than real political issues and stances…

    That’s a little disturbing, because for a lot of voters, those news specials and headlines have a huge influence in which way their vote will swing…I mean in an ideal world, people would read up on the issues objectively on their own, but let’s be realistic, for a lot of voters, the headlines/specials on CNN will say it all for a voter…the media needs to get their act together and be more responsible…

    Okay, rant=finished, sorry for blathering on and I hope you’re well OB! 🙂

    I wish Hillary wasn’t soooo divisive, as she’s incredibly intelligent and would probably make a very good president if given the chance. Personally, I think Barack has a better chance of bringing the nation together again which we sorely need here. I simply CANNOT WAIT for the Bushies to leave office. Someone needs to go into the White House with a sage stick after they’re gone to wipe out the bad karma…

  5. 5 venus00 January 10, 2008 at 8:39 am

    Have you taken the 2008 Presidential Candidate Matching Quiz yet?
    http://www.gotoquiz.com/candidates/2008-quiz.html

    85% Chris Dodd (D)
    83% Bill Richardson (D)
    82% Barack Obama (D)
    82% John Edwards (D)
    81% Hillary Clinton (D)
    75% Joe Biden (D)
    72% Mike Gravel (D)
    63% Dennis Kucinich (D)
    45% Rudy Giuliani (R)
    43% Tom Tancredo (R)
    41% John McCain (R)
    39% Mike Huckabee (R)
    37% Mitt Romney (R)
    25% Ron Paul (R)
    24% Fred Thompson (R)

    2008 Presidential Candidate Matching Quiz

    I ended up being 90% Mike Gravel (WTF is he?????). Guess I’d better do some more research!

  6. 6 Grace January 11, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    What a joke Hillary’s Big Tear-up was. It was contrived. It was a political mover because she was losing her female voter base to someone else and leave it to a bunch of women to fall for tears. They fall for tears in a man and they’ve done it for a woman. LOL 🙂

    And if it WASN’T contrived?? Then Hillary has no business being in the White House. If she can’t handle the stress of ‘campaigning’ without going freakin emotional, imagine if a nuke went off.

    I don’t trust her for a moment.

    It’s interesting that Hillary incites such strong emotions in people – she seems to be a a ‘love her or hate her’ kind of person; very few people are neutral, that’s for sure. That kind of divisiveness is the very reason I don’t think she’ll make a good president.

  7. 7 Grace January 11, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    * mover should read “Manuver” LOLOL But I guess it DID move her in the booths, didn’t it 😉

    Heehee – seems to have!

  8. 8 Doktor Holocaust January 13, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    I don’t think this nation is ready for ANY president, yet. I insist that they install me as a dictator to oversee things until they learn to use better judgment in their selection of candidates.

    All current candidates are asked to report to the New World Veneer of Order Information Retrieval operatives for processing.

    Of course, those of us in the know know that elections are just to appease the sheeple. The REAL leaders aren’t elected, they’re already in power.

  9. 9 Doktor Holocaust January 13, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    on emotional displays: I think we need a complete psychotic in office, because reality is upsetting and being President is difficult enough without having to face reality every day. As an added bonus, any presidential displays of emotion will have no bearing on reality and thusly not really be a significant indicator of their ability to lead – if they’re crying, it’s about the three-story-tall zombie baby outside who has just had its brain removed by an orbital laser platform, so it’s nothing the rest of us have to worry about.

    Seriously, there’s some kind of study that’s been done about the psychological make-up of people who aspire to positions of great power. Conclusion? They’re all semi-psychopaths. Personally, I think they’re androids specifically cloned to lead and programmed to only carry out the orders of their dark masters.

  10. 10 writerchick January 13, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Hey Karen,
    Long time no see.

    I don’t think people were judging her because she cried or tried to – I believe it’s the motivation in question. Hillary is a myriad of contridictions – on the one hand she says she’s tough and can handle the guys, blah blah and then when something she doesn’t like, she says she’s being picked on for being a woman. Seems to me she wants it both ways. Also, I have to say, I think the tears were genuine but she was crying for herself and the prospect that she might actually have competition – not for our country. Sorry, but that gal is not convincing to me at all.
    WC

    I’m starting to believe that it really doesn’t matter who we actually vote for… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PiiaBqwqkXs
    I don’t normally subscribe to these kinds of claims, but this story’s been verified over and over.

  11. 11 ~m January 14, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    The “Hil” incident seemed like alligator tears to me.
    Could be wrong though.
    How about Terrell Owens going “Hillary” on the media?
    If you haven’t seen it, check out the link.
    If he wasn’t such a pretentious gasbag, I wouldn’t have noticed.
    Romo choked, TO cried. What a weekend . . .

    ~m

    I’m such a sports idiot I don’t even know who Terrell Owens is…but I gather he’s a Dallas Cowboy and that they lost the big game last weekend. Waaaaaa! I’m saving up a bunch of Masterpiece Theater episodes to watch during the Superbowl, that’s how girly I am!

  12. 12 Doktor Holocaust January 14, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    it’s the semi-psychopaths that are the problem. they still have one foot in something resembling reality. we need full blown hallucinatory paranoid delusional KOOKS in office. either that or a Zen master who can Do Nothing with ninja precision.

    wait, i have some bad cabbage in my fridge. I will be secret ruler of New World Veneer of Order and bad cabbage will be the elected official I manipulate.

    Purple cabbage is best for manipulation purposes, by the way.

  13. 13 pradapixie January 15, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Gawd, what can a Brit with a stiff upper lip say here…. except cry babe, cry it’s not a sign of weakness it’s a sign of being in touch with your emotions. Men do anger, women do tears, nothing wrong with either if they are not being used cynically to get more votes.
    pxx

    That’s the truth! I feel like men are too afraid of women’s tears, which are not a sign of weakness at all. They’re a way to release stress. You’re right, men do anger when they’re upset. Our stress leaks out of our eyes.

  14. 14 writerchick January 15, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Hey Karen,
    Ballot box stuffing has been around as long as elections have been. Unless we completely irradicate coruption by and large, I don’t see how it can be avoided.

    Personally, I think the paper ballots make the most sense because you have some physical proof of something. I mean come on, who hasn’t had their computer do weird, inexplicable things? They are machines, not people – and if something disappears into the electronic universe you ain’t getting it back.

    After all is said and done I think the only thing we can do is vote our conscience and be satisfied with that.
    wc

    So true. Voting is still our only real power (or perceived power) as citizens. Whether done by human or machine, neither is a foolproof method of counting votes.

  15. 15 Doktor Holocaust January 15, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    My conscience tells me not to vote. All candidates want to take away some of my freedoms and restrict my behavior in some fashion or other, they just want to do it in different but equally-unpleasant ways, so i vote for myself and refuse to acknowledge their sovereignty.

    Good point. I predict that the candidate who will rock the boat the least will win. I hope I’m wrong.

  16. 16 Sibyllae January 17, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Hello – happened over from other blog links; saw your “O-No” post ; with all respect to Diablo Cody, I don’t really think she’s got anything on you; your writing is ingenious and funny.

    —>”Of course, those of us in the know- know that elections are just to appease the sheeple. The REAL leaders aren’t elected, they’re already in power.”<— and this is probly truer than anyone wants to believe…”SHEEPLE” just had me laughing; you are a talented lady. If you publish your own book some time I will buy it! 🙂 Hugs- Sibyl

    Wow! You are now my new bestest friend! (I’m a total slutpuppy for compliments about my writing). I stopped by your site earlier and left you a comment/bookmarked you/and generally became your slave for life. I totally had a naked dream last night after reading some more of the stripper book…except I was walking down the street naked instead of doing it onstage. Muy embarrassing. In the words of D.Cody: “I was shielding my breasts as if they were celebrity babies.”

  17. 17 Sibyllae January 18, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    Hallo! your reply above just had me laugh out loud. I also replied to your comment on my blog too– essentially saying YOU ARE A GODDESS and a dang smart one (possibly a daring and dangerous one- even better! lol). I will be over here often. I like your style. Thanks so much for stopping by too!

    Aw shucks, Sib. You’re a doll!


Leave a Reply

