Today’s Diary Entry

Dear Diary:  

Today I really felt like throttling The Horse Face Herselfthat horsefaced spokeswoman on the Lyrica commercial. The urge was so intense, so incredibly acute. The sound of her voice, the click of her buck teeth, her faux-artist persona – all these things inspired a hatred in me so fierce, I was almost unable to stop myself from reaching into my television set in an attempt to silence her forever. 

7 Responses to “Today’s Diary Entry”


  1. 1 Sibyllae January 23, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Hello Goddess Woman! Well, at first i couldn’t follow what you were talking about (i have never seen this commercial). So I googled it; seems you are not alone in your views on this commercial! Some public comments around the web…

    [quote: “why did they have to use an automaton–
    [qyote: “wow, how come my handwriting is never that neat?–
    [quote: “do I like it? no not really–
    [[quote: “middle age housewifes–spokesmodels for fibromyalgia–

    Then I found the actual commercial to watch; (featured by pfizer)- here it is: https://www.pfizerpro.com/patient_education/lyrica_tv_ad.jsp

    XOXOXO

    I think it’s really hilarious that her diary entry is written so neatly considering how much god-awful pain she was supposed to be in. Totally ridiculous commercial, as all pharamceutical commercials are.

  2. 2 ~m January 23, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Horse-faced? 😆
    Reminds me of my favorite joke.
    You know it.
    punchline: “Hey, buddy? Why the long face?”
    I laugh everytime I think of it.
    Yeah, I’m crazy . . .

    ~m

    Har! You’ll never be able to watch that commercial the same way ever again, Michael!

  3. 3 poseidonsmuse January 23, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    I watched the whole ad. I think she needs better denture glue. Is Fibromyalgia real? I feel your pain. The ad is terrible (as are all drug-related ads…including the piece of crap that I just published on my site). I’ve hit a new low OB.

    HHHHHHHHHHHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLP!!!!!!!!!

    Lol.

    You’re shutting down????? I’ve left you a message on your post (teary-eyed, here).

  4. 4 Red January 24, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Ohh good fucking Lord! I hate that damn commercial. I’ll hold her while you gag her!

    Yes! That commercial inflames my gag reflex. She must die.

  5. 5 joebecca January 24, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    guess who dollface….

    Hey Reggie! Sorry I’ve been absent from most blogs lately (including yours 😦 life’s kicking me in the butt and keeping me busy these days). I NEED to take a trip aroud my little blogosphere soon…

  6. 6 Doktor Holocaust January 25, 2008 at 5:37 am

    i hate all people in commercials. nothing makes me want to avoid a product like associating with humans.

    I am also offended by the jewelry commercials that the various cable networks spam my eyeballs with during the holiday season, but that’s a wholly different rant right there. Suffice to say, I get commercial-rage as well, and often have to booze myself to sleep so I don’t put a bowling ball through the television.

    I hate most commercials for their shameless annoyance factor. I hate the fact that I’m drawn to really bad commercials like a moth to a flame. I hate the way jewelry advertisers want us to believe that everyone rushes out to buy their loved one expensive baubles for each and every federal holiday (“President’s Day coming up? Get your sweetheart a shiny, silvery, dangly bauble! She’ll love you forever!). Grrrrrr.

  7. 7 Doktor Holocaust January 25, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I feel like those commercials have a subliminal message running through them, along the lines of “if you don’t have someone in your life to buy shiny baubles for or just don’t like them and therefore don’t buy them for yourself or anyone else, you are unfit to live.”

    I should do a survey and see how many of those damn commercials are followed by ads for antidepressants. i should also firebomb some jewelry stores. not to steal precious stones and gold, but just to teach them a lesson.

    I feel your pain, Doktor. This capitalistic society breeds insecurity and depression, mark my Effexor-laden words.


Leave a Reply

