Waiting for the thaw

Monday in the middle of winter. 
Spent the previous weekend drinking to excess and sleeping a lot.
Typical winter activities.

Started the morning off with some Amy Winehouse (how appropriate), moved on to Etta James, then to United We Funk’s live album recorded in Detroit.  Currently on the player – Christina Aguilera. 

I’m in a Neo-Soul kind of mood today.
Did I mention it’s winter and I’m restless?

I’m vowing not to talk about politics here, due to the personal nature of everyone’s opinions. That said, I’m currently very pleased with the outcomes of the elections so far. Seems my master plan to install a puppet government that will do only my bidding is working.

In my quest to see every single Oscar-nominated movie for Best Picture, I’ve been drowning in serious cinema.  Alas, my next Netflix movie is The Assassination of Jesse James… What I need now is a comedic dork-fest of movies to lighten things up. Perhaps it’s time to pull out my Christopher Guest stash.

I just spent the last two weeks teaching myself how to crochet. I can’t think of anything actually useful I can do with this skill except make an afghan, which would probably end up looking like something a clumsy second-grader with poor hand-eye coordination would crochet. Anyway, it’s something to do in front of the TV, as I watch the increasingly bad selection of reality programming being foisted on us.

I’m glad the writer’s strike is finally over, but it’ll be awhile before they pull the latest revival of American Gladiator off the air. And none too soon, either.

In the meantime, winter marches on, as I drink heavily and crochet my way through skein after skein of worsted, making nothing in particular, watching some of the worst TV ever produced, waiting for spring.

16 Responses to “Waiting for the thaw”


  1. 1 CuriousC February 12, 2008 at 11:15 am

    I have that Oscar quest, too and I’m in a dilemma to send back the Julie Christie Away From Her (I’m not in the mood!) to see Gone Baby Gone and/or Jesse James… I’m get woefully behind. It’s hopeless, I’m sure.

    I actually really liked the Julie Christie movie – it’s worth a watch because they address something that is not widely known about Alzheimer’s patients.

  2. 2 pradapixie February 12, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    wonderful imagery of inebriated woman, crocheting nothing imparticular, waiting.
    Whilst on the other hand I’ve been driving out and about in glorious sunshine with the roof down on my car.
    pxx

    Ooooh, you would have to go and make me jealous!

  3. 3 Spyder February 12, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    You can also make hats, scarfs….

    I’m experimenting with afghan squares right now. Who knows? I many actually make something after all…

  4. 4 Doktor Holocaust February 12, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    so YOU are the one foiling my master plan to install some nuke-happy warmongering we-don’t-need-no-steenking-oil madman in office!

    i was gonna have him reduce the entire middle east to radioactive glass and mandate a switch to ethanol/electric hybrid cars, and then he was going to put on a rubber horse-head mask and dance naked in the woods to music from old NES games. damn. there goes my plans for the pre-inaugeral yuletide festivities.

    Yes, I’m sorry to tell you that I’m actually running the show, although I believe we have a nice cabinet post picked out for you as Minister of the Living Dead. You will have a special budget line item for necrophilia-related expenses. See how much fun you’re gonna have? You can thank me later…

  5. 5 Sorrow February 13, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Crochet?
    hmmm
    why not something more fun like belly dance?
    or holla hoop?
    Yeah politics, so glad to hear your nefarious plot is working accordingly!
    Rental recommendation for a few giggles…
    noises off
    an oldie but a goody…

  6. 6 jenice February 13, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Winter makes us batty but it is one of my favorite seasons for some reason. I think it’s the clothes! And politics? Girl’ go ahead and get controversial!

  7. 7 Red February 16, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    My crochet work is actually better when I drink.

  8. 8 AnthonyNorth February 19, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Learning crochet? We’ve both been on a learning curve then. I’ve been learning poetry.
    I’m quite getting into it. But it won’t produce a blanket. Just some fun on my blog.
    Enjoy your films, OB.

  9. 9 ~m February 21, 2008 at 8:15 am

    I’m waiting right next to you, OB :mrgreen:
    Hoping it comes soon . . .
    ~m

  10. 10 sibyllae February 24, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    I’m so glad to see you back here! I know exactly what you mean about the winter thaw… BORRRRRING. I also am wating for some warm weather and I miss being outside. But– you at least you have diversity in your musical choices (only you can put these back to back and make them sound sensical))– I was laughing when I saw your list.. Started the morning off with some Amy Winehouse (how appropriate), moved on to Etta James, then to United We Funk’s live album recorded in Detroit. Currently on the player – Christina Aguilera….

    you go girl! (on that afghan too! no doubt you’ll find VERY good use for it 🙂 HUGS– sib

  11. 11 tec February 27, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    There are lots of fun things you can crochet! I make these: http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i71/alocke_tec/boobiepillow-vi.jpg
    I also make crocheted wire jewelry.
    My girlfriend keeps trying to convince me to make a whole person, but I don’t know that I’m up to an undertaking that huge.

  12. 12 Ron February 27, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Ok…you said two magical things on this post…Christina Aguilera and Christopher Guest!!!

    I LOVE them both! And I know of no other person who has a stash of Guest films like I DO! Is the man not brilliant or WHAT??? Best in Show is my Fav, however, Guffman is a close first!

    Some red wine and a Guest film…NOTHING tops that!

    Stay warm and fuzzy!

  13. 13 Sorrow February 28, 2008 at 7:35 am

    You okay?
    (((HUG)))

  14. 14 Paul B. March 2, 2008 at 5:20 am

    Haha.. I love the image of you and crochet.

  15. 15 joebecca March 3, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    ah damn OB, i wish i could say i was drinking heavily waiting for the thaw.. but i just like to drink heavily.

  16. 16 Red March 6, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Ah man . .did we lose you, too?


Leave a Reply

