Home Improvement!

Argh!  Sorry to have been absent lately, but part of my house was being dismantled.  On purpose, of course.  Scares me to know that a harebrained idea I had back in September could be coming to fruition now. 

Financing acquired and weather cooperating (sort of), we began the Big Project 10 days ago.  Demolishing part of your own home is both terrifying and strangely satisfying.

humbleabode.jpg

While removing the old lap siding, we uncovered a treasure:  A Kansas City Times newspaper  dated June 10, 1907.  It was nailed to the house and is not in very good condition, but is readable.  Among the newsworthy nuggets of that date was a report of fish raining from the sky in Independence the previous day during a tremendous rainstorm.   We’ve also uncovered the original cistern under the old patio.  It was filled in long ago, but when we dig the foundation for the addition we’ll find out what was tossed in there to fill it in.   I’m having visions of enough buried treasure to pay for this renovation but, knowing my luck, it will be filled with a bunch of rusted junk. 

Having a large, messy, muddy yard is really fucking with my OCD, people.  Also, since I’m down to one bathroom, that means I’m sharing it with two adult males.  Not a pretty sight, let me tell you.  I’m not used to sharing my shampoo and shower gel obsession with others and I think the guys are a little freaked out by the explosion of strange, fruity smelling concoctions that now share space with their Old Spice and AXE products. 

So, according to my general contractor (a.k.a. my retired brother), we’re on the cusp of the beginning of “the fun part”.  By fun, I hope he means less messy.   I admit, it’s pretty exhilarating to watch this space go through such an extreme transformation but I wish I could go on vacation for the next 6 months and return when it’s completely done. 

In the meantime, I’m learning how to go with the flow and working hard on relaxing my cleanliness standards.  This takes a lot more alcohol than I previously budgeted for though, but I’m still managing to stay inebriated enough to keep it from driving me crazy. 

 Oh, and speaking of drinking heavily, I’ve started an actual crochet project!  It’s going to be called The Drunken Afghan.  Let me tell you, there’s nothing like sitting down for an evening of drinking and crocheting to make the stress of having mud continually tracked through the house and sharing a bathroom with two men melt away!  Drunken crocheting has literally saved my life, people. 

Stay tuned for more updates, kiddies.  You know you want to.

14 Responses to “Home Improvement!”


  1. 1 Spyder March 9, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    How exciting! Post a photo of both works in progress (Afghan too).

    That’s a great idea! However, you have to know that I’m hopelessly unreliable with a camera. It’s a minor miracle that I managed to remember to photograph anything associated with this house project!

  2. 2 Red March 10, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Isn’t it so much fun to do demo work? I think it’s a blast, and a form of therapy to do it.
    And the old timey paper, too? That’s neat!
    *sniff* Old Spice . . niiice.

    I was pretty ambivelent about swinging the sledge on my own home, but once I got into it, it was pretty cool!

  3. 3 Sorrow March 10, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    good to know all is well, and it’s just the construction blues…
    I think Tahiti is in order!, sand sun surf, get back just about the time they need paint to be picked out…

    Although my mantra has been “I’m just the check signer”, I keep getting asked to do other things! Not fair. I’m ready for the decorating phase, myself!

  4. 4 venus00 March 11, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    Wow you guys made some quick progress! I can’t wait to hear what you find in the cistern, as long as it a “what” and not a “who”. :-O

    Nothing in the cistern except an empty elixer bottle. Damn! I could’ve used some exlixer, tool.

  5. 5 Grace March 12, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    (((( OB ))) Hey, Girlfriend! Just wandered into your neck of the Hood, and here you are, ass deep in alligators and allen wrenches!!! (HUH??? lol)

    ok, and while I get the mess-is-a-bitch part, HOW EXCITING your home project sounds!

    I’m back in blogland, in a new House of my own ;)…drop by when you have a second…and I’ll definitely be back here to see what’s happeneing!

    Alligators & allen wrenches! And speaking of messiness, today’s forecast is for buckets of rain. Time to get out the wellies!

  6. 6 Ron March 14, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Just stopped by to say hi!

    You kill me with your words…you REALLY should be writing more, cause you’re freaking brilliant!!!

    Damn…you’re funny, girl!

    I hear you on this one, because I have a case of ODC too and it would be driving me nuts!

    I’m a GUY…and I couldn’t share a bathroom with a guy!

    Guys really should learn how to SIT when they pee…because they certainly don’t know how to AIM.

    So glad your back blogging, Karen. And I can’t wait to see that Drunken Pinot Noir Afghan!

    Later….

    Thanks for the kudos! The mud situation is bad and getting worse. We have trenches in the backyard where footers are supposed to be poured, but the rains are moving in which means little Karen is REALLY starting to move into full-blown OCD freakout mode. More to come…

  7. 7 pradapixie March 16, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    well if all else fails you could crochet a new extension to your house.
    pxx

    Ha! It could be featured in one of those Home & Garden TV programs. “It’s a bedroom! AND a large tea cozy!”

  8. 8 romi41 March 16, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Wow, it’s like our version own episode of “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition”, but where the f**k is that hot Ty Pennington?? 😉

    PS: we would also like to see photographic updates on the “drunken afghan”.. 😉

    OK, I’ll do some pics of the afghan squares. Some of definitely wiggly-looking and have taken on a rather inebriated flavor…

  9. 9 anthonynorth March 17, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Once you start it goes on and on and on. But worth it in the end.

    It’s finally starting to look like something now. Hope things are going well on your side of the pond, my dear.

  10. 10 Paul B. March 27, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    You found a newspaper “nailed” to the house? I don’t know if that is freaky or not but its cool all the same.

    Hope its all going well..

    Hey Paulie-boy! I’ve completely embraced the vodka and cranberry juice (I like mine with a twist of lime) thing. Muy delicioso and buen refesca!

  11. 11 Simonne May 1, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    Drunken crocheting? How exciting to return to blogland and find nothng much has changed! HI OB!! I missed you! Good luck with the renovations!
    Sxxxx

    Hi Simonne! How’s married life???? You should sooooo do a home renovation! There’s nothing like the pressure of coordinating subs to really suss out those little quirks lurking deep in your significant other’s psyche!

  12. 12 greenmetropolis May 12, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Oh, I was *this* close to being all “You should take up knitting! it’s fantastic for the OCD!” when you busted out with the crocheting. Washing walls helps too, and generally keeps other people clear of you. For some reasons, I’ve found washing walls makes me appear extra crazy.

    I washed walls last year! VERY soothing, especially using those Mr. Clean Magic Erasers! Very magical!

  13. 13 abarclay12 May 14, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    I like that you’re crocheting while drunk. That’s like “Girls gone wild – craft edition!” Good luck with the remodel.

    Both are going along swimmingly! New update has been posted (sans pictures, sadly).

  14. 14 Jenice May 25, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Still. It must be nice to have your OWN place to call home. I’m 30 ans still renting. I’m hoping to change that soon. Good luck with the improvements. Be warmed inside knowing it’s all yours…


Leave a Reply

