Ray LaMontagne: Empty

I’ve held this video of Ray LaMontagne as a draft post for a year. These lyrics have always spoken to me personally and convey the simplicity of the primary emotion I’ve felt for 12 months. Empty, estranged. I’ve been lost for awhile, but I feel the hopefulness of the future returning.
The new year is coming, new beginnings, new challenges. It will be time to step out of my sadness soon. Happy holidays, everyone. I will surround myself with family and friends and revel in their love for me.

She lifts her skirt up to her knees
Walks through the garden rows with her bare feet, laughing
I never learned to count my blessings
I choose instead to dwell in my disasters
Walk on down the hill
Through the grass grown tall and brown
And still it’s hard somehow to let go of my pain
On past the busted back
Of that old and rusted Cadillac
That sinks into this field collecting rain

Will I always feel this way
So empty, so estranged

Of these cutthroat busted sunsets
These cold and damp white mornings I have grown weary
If through my cracked and dusty dimestore lips
I spoke these words out loud would no one hear me

Lay your blouse across the chair
Let fall the flowers from your hair
And kiss me with that country mouth so plain
Outside the rain is tapping on the leaves
To me it sounds like they’re applauding us
The quiet love we make

Will I always feel this way
So empty, so estranged

Well I looked my demons in the eye
Laid bare my chest said do your best destroy me
See I’ve been to hell and back so many times
I must admit you kinda bore me

There’s a lot of things that can kill a man
There’s a lot of ways to die
Yes and some already dead who walk beside you
There’s a lot of things I don’t understand
Why so many people lie
Well it’s the hurt you hide that fuels the fires inside you

 

2 Responses to “Ray LaMontagne: Empty”


  1. 1 sorrow December 24, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Wow..
    That is song..
    Just popped in to wish you a warm holiday full of laughter
    love
    hot cocoa and
    stars shining down…
    and perhaps the gentle applause of snow slakes as they fall on a window pane…

    I love this song so much. The holidays have been very good, surrounded by loved ones. I no longer feel so empty…

  2. 2 Deb December 25, 2008 at 6:47 am

    It is good to see you posting again, though I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been struggling with so much lately. Wishing you strength for the coming new year…

    Hey Deb! Things are going to be great in the new year, I just know it. Thanks for stopping by, girl. Missed you…


Leave a Reply

